We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Staunton
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Millville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived later in the evening after traveling from MA. Chris (who checked us in) was friendly and helpful. Went out of his way to make our check in fast and even fun. We were told we were the "guests of the day"! Got upgraded to a king suite, so that was pretty cool. Stayed here agian on our return trip and the service was just as good! We have been overall very happy with Hampton Inns, but this one seems to go above and beyond. The free breakfast is just enough to get you going in the a.m. too. Food is prepared well, pretty good choices...although in the cereal would be nice if some boxes of chex (gluten free) too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanCG22860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    145
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
202
240
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

As usual being a Gold Hilton Honors member we got an automatic upgrade to a king suite and had a really nice room. Very clean, quiet and comfortable ... just what we needed for this one night stop on our long road trip. The young man at the front desk (Chris) was so cheerful and helpful ... told us all about restaurant options nearby and historic sites in the area plus evening entertainment venues. Check-in was a breeze. It had been a long day and we didn't feel like going out so we just ate at the AppleBee's restaurant that was near the hotel.
Thanks Hampton Inn Staunton!

Room Tip: We always stay on an upper floor away from elevator where it is usually more quiet even when a hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestedSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinalhaven, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I love staying at Hampton Inns. They are consistently clean, well-taken care of and predictable.

The one in Staunton had an amazing breakfast! The best "free" motel breakfast I've encountered. The scrambled eggs with cheese and ham was delicious! Gourmet, even. The coffee (dark roast) was also a cut above most coffees in motels. Fruit salad: terrific.

And, as usual, clean, well-appointed room and friendly service. Good job, Hampton Inn!

Room Tip: I had one o the first floor in the back and it was very quiet, AND I could check up on my U-Haul tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Staff and facilities top notch. Breakfast wonderful . I have paid much more for less service. I was in town for a memorial service for my parents ..the staff overheard ad provided a very thoughtful card extending their condolences. I thought this was above and beyond the expected courtesies and very much appreciated the effort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FT Lauderdale, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were staying at different hotels, none matched Hampton for the best all around service , the rooms were always clean and fresh and the breakfest was just right because we had a choice of what to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel exceeded all expectations for a 3.5 star! Did I mention that it is only rated as a 2.5 star?

I am an admitted "Hotel Snob" who has champagne taste on a beer budget! When we decided on a weekend getaway to Staunton from the DC area, I had my doubts about this hotel. In the end, we chose it because it had larger rooms, wasn't near a railroad track and had fairly decent reviews. After purchasing the room, we packed our bags and prepared for the worst!

PRIOR TO ARRIVAL

Reservations: I called to verify our reservations and request extra pillows. I individual with whom I spoke was incredibly professional, polite and accommodating! That immediately reassured me us as to our decision to stay at this hotel.

ARRIVAL

Outside: The hotel grounds are what you would expect from a 2.5 star - behind an Applebee's and gas station, next to a Tractor Supply Co., very little landscaping and surrounded by their asphalt parking lot. That being said, the parking lot was clean and well lit! We felt safe unloading our vehicle (we arrived at about 11pm) and going inside.

Front Desk: The employee at the front desk was extremely polite and professional. She set a standard that would be met by each employee from that point on! I was promptly welcomed and given our room keys.

(Side note: Maybe I've been in the DC area for too long, but I was incredibly surprised by how friendly the staff was. It has been a while since I've visited a business where I'm treated like I'm an old friend! Maybe that says a lot about this particular hotel...or more likely, about the incredible people who reside in the Staunton area!)

FOYER/HALLWAY

The foyer, elevators and hallways leading to the room were very clean. You can definitely tell this is a NON-SMOKING hotel.

DELUXE KING ROOM:

Size: This is one of the largest hotel room I've stayed in! There was more than enough room for us, the car seat, stroller, bags, etc. The only thing we found odd due to the room's size was not really being able to watch TV from the bed. You can see the TV screen, but it is on the opposite side of the room (length wise). This problem was solved by wearing ourselves out during the day and wanting to jump into bed once we got home!

Overall Cleanliness: The room was VERY clean! The floors were clean, everything had been dusted, and the room smelled fresh!

King Bed: We've found that many hotels try to pass off a queen sized bed for a king. This was a TRUE king bed! It was also VERY comfortable. I believe this was a Serta mattress - not your average rock mattress carried by most chains! The bedding was also very clean and fresh. The comforter was made from faux down, I believe, and was great! Pillows were also full, not the normal flat feather pillows normally found at hotels.

Bathroom: VERY clean and not cramped at all. There was plenty of counter space! Our room was stocked with plenty of towels, wash cloths, etc.This bathroom was a shower only, so no soaking in a warm bath! That being said, I've got to applaud the great shower head and water pressure! I like high-pressure showers! I want my shower to be able to peel the paint off of the wall! One of my biggest pet peeves about hotel showers is usually a lack of water pressure - not here! The shower head allows from a gentle shower to a high-pressure wash! Perfect! My only complaint is that the towels were your average, low-end, scratchy hotel towels.

Fridge & Microwave: The fridge was your standard mini-fridge. It works great for keeping water bottles cold and freezing ice packs for the next day's outing. The microwave was quite possibly the smallest one I've ever seen! I was going to buy some popcorn to pop, but wasn't sure that it would fit! Ok, it would probably fit a bag of popcorn, but that is about it. This is perfect for heating up a last night's Chinese food or a Hot Pocket, I guess. We never had the need to use it.

AC/Thermostat: This room had a digital thermostat. It works so much better than the normal blue-to-red dial found on most cooling units!

Adjoining room: The room adjoining this particular room housed two queen beds. This would be perfect for a family or group of 5+!

Counter Space: My favorite feature was all of the counter space! The room contained a long counter with a deep sink! As the room only had a shower, we couldn't adequately bathe our six month old in the bathroom. This deep sink doubled as a personal bath / hot tub for our little one and she LOVED it!


POOL

The pool is outdoors and I'm sure quite cold! To get to the pool area, you have to walk out of the back door (exit to the parking lot) and then into the fenced pool area. It would be great if the pool could only be entered from inside the hotel.


BREAKFAST

The breakfast was about what you would expect from a 3.5 star hotel, so above par for a 2.5. There was plenty of hot food - even when we showed up about 15 minutes before breakfast was to end. There was plenty of seating. They even had a high chair for the little one. The employee preparing breakfast was very willing to come wipe down the chair for our little one to use.

Side note: One morning, while at breakfast, we happened to be able to see into the kitchen area. The individual preparing the breakfast dropped a tray of food....and promptly threw it away, then washed his hands and went back to preparing more food! That is exactly what I wanted to see!

OVERALL:

I've never stayed in a Hampton before this trip, settling for their big brother The Hilton instead. This experience has changed my mind and made me a believer! We love the Staunton area and will be returning several times over the remainder of the year. If this particular hotel can beat the price of the other Hamptons in the area, we'll be there!

Y'all are obviously doing something right! Keep up the amazing job you're doing!

Room Tip: You are far enough away from the highway that noise doesn't seem to be an issue regardless of wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StauntonHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to write this great, detailed review! I love to hear the experiences of all of our guests, but particularly ones who have never stayed with us or another Hampton. I am proud that we exceeded your expectations, and look forward to your return visit this summer!

Best Regards,

Andrew Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent service; really great complimentary breakfast with omelettes! Rooms clean and nicely decorated, and very comfortable. Easy access off Route 81 but very quiet. If you are travelling in the Staunton area or anywhere nearby, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
1.8 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
1.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Staunton

Property: Hampton Inn Staunton
Address: 40 Payne Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-5513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Family Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Staunton 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing