We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Hudson, NH
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Used my Choice Points (8000) for a free night. The room was on the small side but fine. We needed a starting point for the Blue Ridge Parkway and this was near enough. We would stay here again, although other reviews make me feel we may have been lucky.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guicide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    21
    15
    19
See reviews for
16
20
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Catskills
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Our 1 night stay was disappointing.

The good: nice size refrigerator, good tasting water, lots of hot water.
The not so good: Breakfast couldn't be more meager. Bagels & muffins tasted like they'd been
refrozen 10 times. That plus juice and weak coffee was the whole breakfast.

The directions given to get to eating places were very poor. Like they did not drive.
Lovely town with lots of history. We'll return to visit but definetly stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Inverness
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Very busy place as you can imagine, especially when the snow is around. Good range of food and reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank nulzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed at this Econo Lodge in Staunton VA 10/22/12 for two nights. Not a bad stay for the price. No "HOT" breakfast. But the room was clean and bathroom clean. Despite being on the main drag, it was pretty quite.

Room Tip: I like ground floor rooms so I don't have to lug the luggage upstairs, but you have guest over y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanEMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The best thing I can say about this place is that it is within walking distance to Chili's. The room was not the dirtiest I've been in, but it is close. I know times are hard economically and try to take that into consideration with everything these days, but the towels weren't clean and that's a real deal breaker for me. I didn't pay for this hotel but had "earned" a free night and this was the only class hotel that I had enough points for. In the future I'll pay a few extra bucks for a Comfort Inn or Quality. Had I paid I probably would have turned right around and taken the key back to the front desk & asked for a refund.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fletcher
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I had to travel last minute due to a death in the family. It was late, and all other hotels off the exit were full. We usually stay in a Choice hotel, either Comfort Inn or Sleep Inn, so we had some faith in the brand. All faith was lost when we checked into our room. It smelled, wasn't clean at all, and we immediately spotted 3 cockroaches crawling on the walls. We were so tired that we stayed in the room, but slept with the lights on and all of our clothes on. DO NOT STAY HERE. It would be more comfortable and safer to sleep in your car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtngirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed here for a night while on a family road trip. The room was basic and we did not experience any problems. I did check the beds prior to sleeping in them. The breakfast consisted of some mini muffins, 2 types of cereal, and english muffins.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTLotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
817 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Property: Econo Lodge East
Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing