We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed 31 May 2008

Recently Renovated, the bedspreads looked very nice and I loved that they had both interior and exterior corridors... The rate was very reasonable compared to the other hotels in Staunton. There is a Chili's almost next door. The hotel has all the amenities any traveler is looking for. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HotelTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2007

I needed a place to stay around Staunton, VA so I checked all the major travel sites for the best value. I needed a room for Saturday night, so motel prices averaged ~$70.
I narrowed my search to those places w/ wireless internet, and came upon the Econo Lodge East. The Orbitz price was $65, but I went to the motel's website and booked the room for $55 using the internet user's rate. It's always a good idea to do a broad search using travel sites and then try out the hotel's site once you've decided.

I arrived at 2:30 in the morning and the check-in was quick. I asked for a late checkout and was given an hour extra ('till noon) with no problem. I had a King bed room on the second floor, and it was pleasant enough, the furniture and carpet seemed to have been redone within the last couple of years. A few stains on the carpet, but what motel doesn't have that? No musty smell to the room. The room had a fridge and microwave, iron and ironing board. Most impressive was the speed of the wireless connection, at over 4mb/s.

All in all, I recommend this motel if you are passing through Staunton, VA.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 72Westy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Towels with yellowish something on them and so old and brittle. Air conditioner so noisy plus you can't set it to your desired temparature.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shanshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

We checked into room 211. I've been hearing a lot about bedbugs and checked the first bed, near the door. Seemed to be okay. Didn't check the second bed. I slept in that one (my friend slept in the one by the door.) Next morning, I awoke to tiny red welts all over my abdomen and back side. My friend didn't have any. By the second day, I was itching like crazy. In doing research, I've discovered that bedbugs can crawl into your luggage and infest your home. They're very hard to get rid of. Econo Lodge Staunton, time to clean up your act!

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank harleygirrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2005

The room was fairly nice and clean. The hotel was very convenient to the highway and to restaurants. The air conditioning worked well.

However, just a few minor gripes:

1. The remote for the TV didn't work; had to use the controls on the set. Not a big deal except that the lighting was pretty dim and it was difficult to see what I was doing.

2. Ants around the window. Yes, they were inside. No, they didn't go any further than the window.

3. No outdoor trash cans. I was traveling with a dog (attending a local dog show), and many of the other guests were there for the same reason. Everyone, including myself, was cleaning up after their dogs, but there was no place to dispose of the mess when picked up.

Like I said, however, these were relatively minor, and the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chowowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2003

My family and I stayed a night at this motel in July 2003. Our room was fine, no problems. The staff we met were friendly. The breakfast, a 'Dunkin' Donuts' affair, was a bit stodgy for our liking. In short, the place was clean and 'no frills'.

8  Thank SnowFallingOnCedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jack p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
481 reviews
1 mi away
Sleep Inn Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
#4 of 15 in Staunton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
921 reviews
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Staunton
Motel 6 Staunton
#11 of 15 in Staunton
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Staunton North
Days Inn Staunton North
#13 of 15 in Staunton
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing