We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad”
Review of Econo Lodge East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge East
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Room was clean. Bed was OK. Nice and quiet. Good channels on the TV. All in All...Not Great, But Not Bad. Hats off to Joe who works the front desk. Warm and friendly. Made sure you were happy. Forget the Free Breakfast, that is a joke...

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bunky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    10
    21
    15
    20
See reviews for
17
20
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Driving to across country, this was an overnight stop. Breakfast is decent for brand. Motel room is dated and has a musty smell. Bathroom needs chalking. Staff very friendly. Room was ok for the one night to rest our head and get back on the road. Would not recommend this property for longer stays.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loulu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a nice Motel a room a bed and a tv...It is well cleaned and the staff is nice. but do not expect the extras. but for the price and location it is well worth it.WiFi is free but not to strong so if that is a deal breaker then just a heads up....only down sid is breakfast is bare bones (go some were elce)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel (Canton), North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Not the best, not the worst room we've ever had. This location features very basic rooms that include tv, microwave, fridge, and internet access. The room is featureless with bland wall coverings and no pictures on the walls. The bathroom should definitely been cleaner. Not too sure if we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobEtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I don't usually call ahead for reservations unless I'm very familiar with a property. We wanted to use our points for a room so I called central reservations for this chain. I was told it was a new property and that 72% of the people like it I took a chance and booked the room. Oh gosh, what a shock awaited us as we pulled up. The place was dark and the parking lot pretty much of a mess. I drive a Vette so I was very concerned about the safety of my car. We parked in what we felt was the safest spot. The lobby was a tip off as to how the rest of the place was going to be. We were not put in the same building as the lobby but were directed though the double doors of a building across the parking lot. As soon as we opened the door the place smelled old. The room was also old even though the bedding looked to have been recently done. The beds were comfortable but the lines were terrible. The sheets didn't even fit the beds so they kept popping off. The blanket looked like it was right out of the 50's. The real shock came when I went to plug in my tablet behind the nightstand. The dirt was so think it was falling off the baseboards and the wires unto the floor. It was a mess. I hated to think what might be living behind the beds. The breakfast was a joke and the room a mess. I had an English Muffin and a cup of cold coffee. When we went to check out the clerk went totally off the wall when I told him I didn't have the key with me. He yelled "you don't have a key". I told him I didn't have it as my husband had it and we were never given a problem checking out of any other place and not turning in the key. He got very angry and actually screamed at us saying he had to have the key back because they use the keys again. I hunted up my husband and put the key down on the counter. The guy was still screaming as we walked out. I wasn't expecting luxury at an Econo Lodge, but I was expected a clean, comfortable room, and not to be screamed at. I have stayed at this chain before, and have had good experiences, just not this time. My advice is to go anyplace else. Had it not been so late when we arrived, we would have left and gone elsewhere. Traveler beware!!!

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I really wished I had seen previous reviews of this motel. Saw bed bugs crawling on the bed and went to the front desk clerk with my mother who was very polite and professional in asking the clerk for a solution to the problem. He declined to come look at the bugs and told us to vacate the premises immediately and even threatened to call the police if we didn't. It was 12 AM I had two small children and was 500 miles from home. We did leave the motel after bagging all of our belongings in trash bags. We called the health department the next business day who reported finding nothing upon an inspection three days later (the owner did report he cleaned the room). I did take photos of the bugs and excrement on the mattress.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brittrains1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loretto, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

More than adequate for our needs: a place to sleep and a quick morning breakfast. We we in Staunton for the American Shakespeare Center's Friday and Saturday productions and spent little time in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MereMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 15 in Staunton
280 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge East

Property: Econo Lodge East
Address: 1031 Richmond Ave., I-81 exit 222, Staunton, VA 24401-4905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge East 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Staunton
Staunton Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing