We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast, Hard Bed”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We recently stayed here for a wedding in Staunton. There was a lot to like about the breakfast. It had warm, cold and everything in between, including a make-your-own-waffle station. The staff was very good about keeping things refilled. However the bed was rock hard and neither of us slept very well. We heard from other friends in the hotel that their mattresses also left something to be desired. The plus side of the room was the mini-fridge and microwave that was great for leftovers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YesToTravel611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. Our other guests certainly seem to agree that the wide selection (hot and cold!) of our breakfast buffet is a huge success. We are so glad that you found the in room microwave and refrigerator to be a helpful addition during your stay.

We do apologize that the bedding was not satisfactory - while we do maintain franchise bedding standards, bedding is certainly one of those items subject to personal preference!

Thank you for your visit and we hope you return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel. We had our 'son', Korbel, a Cocker Spaniel, with us. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly Desk Clerk who presented Korbel with a friendly greeting and bag of doggie treats along with a 'WELCOME' card. Korbel had found a home!!
The room was clean & well maintained. There is a 'Waffle House' located directly across from the hotel. The hotel served a decent breakfast for their human guests. Pets will have to rely on their owners for breakfast. There were the standard 'make your own' waffel makers. . This place had two makers operating which helped move the line. Eggs & bacon, Coffee, Tea, juices and pastries & fruit were also on the menue.
Parking was ample. Our room smelled a bit, 'doggie' when we opened the door, but a few sprays of 'Fabreze' type spray provided by the house cleaner and it was fine.
The Air Conditioner was very quiet also. We would recommend this Pet Friendly hotel and so would Korbel. Woof!
I's suggest asking for a room on the 1st floor, for ease of taking your animal out for 'a walk' when needed. The hotel does request you NOT leave the animal alone in the room if you leave for any reason.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room and it was excellent when Dog had to 'go out'.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Traveling to Virginia Beach via I-64 & I-81 we did an overnight at the Comfort Inn.
It was clean and quiet. The breakfast was typical for your free breakfast and it was good. Traveling with two small children we found adequate fruit, milk, yogurt and cereal for them.

Check in was fast - staff was friendly. Good stop for overnight. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TinkerbellWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Staunton hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is very rewarding to hear that we have succeeded in offering the key hotel necessities: clean, quiet and friendly. Our complimentary hot breakfast buffet is also a big hit with our guests and we are pleased that it met the needs of your traveling family!

Your comments and feedback are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Check in was very fast, easy and the gentleman at the front desk was very freindly. The room was very very clean and comfortable and the hotel was a very quiet atmosphere. My husband and I will be back, it was better then so many other other hotels that cost a whole lot more that we have stayed at in the past few months. We will be returning in about 2 months again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is our 3rd or 4th visit to this motel and we return because we have been so pleased with our stays. From the front desk attendants, Juanita was wonderful to work with, to the housecleaning staff, the employees have always been friendly and made us feel welcomed. The rooms have always been clean & comfortable and the breakfast area is larger than most. My husband & I travel and stay in enough motels during the year to compare amenities and we will certainly stay in this motel when we return to the area to visit our family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Preston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

People were excellent hotel needs improvent! The breakfast wasn't fresh eggs were too old, that gravy I couldn't recognise.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This hotel was the worst hotel that I ever stayed in my life. Next to a bad area nothing to see but a truck barnyard and rail tracks. We made an early reservation early hoping that they would give us the best rooms and since we arrived late they didn't even take us in to a proper suite. The room we got was with an old TV with old walls and with a crummy bathroom. For $110 these people should"ve reserved our room. Breakfast was even bad. The eggs were horrible and its so crammy. These people are wheeler dealers. If you want to stay at a better hotel stay at the hampton inn in staunton. There is really nothing in this area at all. Beds were clean though at least but that's it. Staff was nice though but not all that nice. We had to request for our own towels since they did not provide us with some. So bring your own pillow if you want to stay here and bring your own shampoo. The area around the hotel is not a good one so don't come here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartofthesoulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
863 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-9100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing