We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, free popcorn, good beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, free popcorn, good beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Just an overnight stay while traveling.
We used the coupons books, and chose this hotels since they
had queen and king size beds and a hot breakfast.
The lobby was decorated beautifully for Christmas and there
was free hot popcorn available, which was a treat.
Breakfast was good, with eggs and sausage along with normal
continental breakfast items.

Room Tip: Bathrooms were small but everything was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllentownBarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Staunton. We are glad our rooms were comfortable and convenient for your needs and that you enjoyed the complimentary full hot/cold breakfast buffet! Our team does take great pride in creating a cozy and inviting “home away from home” atmosphere which includes lovely seasonal decorations and amenities like fresh, hot popcorn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    80
    47
    30
    15
See reviews for
86
85
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice in the last ten days, going and coming on I-81 from New York State to Georgia. The rooms were clean and spacious, although the bathroom on one night was quite small. Breakfast choices were above par; staff friendly; check-in and check-out were easy. We'll stay here again on our next trip. Very close to I-81 exit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
We so appreciate your taking the time to share your comments about your stays at our Comfort Inn with the Trip Advisor community. We love to hear that a guest experience is so positive that the guest not only returns again but also encourage others to visit with us. As you noted, our location is very convenient to travelers on the I-81 corridor. Loved hearing that the complimentary breakfast variety was above par and that our staff was friendly. Your comments have been shared with the team at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed here about 4 years ago and were very impressed by the cleanliness. This time around it was still pretty clean but looking a bit worn. Again, traveling with our dog, we were not told there would be a fee when we booked only to be charged at the hotel $10 for the dog. (not much but I don't like surprises).
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smedly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your return visit. We were very disappointed to hear that your subsequent visit did not meet your expectations and do appreciate your feedback. As a pet friendly hotel, our minimal pet fee is mentioned on the franchise website and the goal is that this is mentioned to our guests during the actual reservation process. We are very sorry that did not happen in your case. Thank you for your compliments on our housekeeping. Annually money is invested back in to the hotel in order to keep it fresh and current. We are pleased to share that sleeping rooms as well as public areas have recently received new carpet and new bedding packages. We do hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Check in was the best part of our stay; the young lady at the front desk was super nice. We arrived around 7:30 pm on Saturday night. The first room (King bed) we were given was on the second floor. The room appeared as though housekeeping had dipped out in the middle of cleaning; mattress was propped up against the wall and vacuum cleaner was sitting in the middle of floor. Staff was apologetic and we were reassigned to a room on the first floor. The room was not as clean as I would have liked for it to be but it was bearable for one night; lots of dust around baseboards and on the sides of the TV stand, etc. The bed was decent and there were two types of pillows to choose from, soft or firm. The heater in the room was a bit annoying because the fan was loud and constantly turning on/off. They offer a huge complimentary breakfast. A few items to choose from that I remember are: scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, make your own waffles, cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, biscuits, yogurt, milk and juice.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before making a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for the review about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn. We are very pleased to hear that the greeting staff member was "super nice". While it was difficult to hear that other aspects of your stay were not up to par, we appreciate your letting us know so that we are able to use your feedback to retrain our team at the hotel. The initial room that was assigned to you should never have been put back on the market and we apologize for failing to catch that. We have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping staff at the hotel and have reviewed our overall room inspection process. Thank you for sharing the positive feedback about the varied offerings of our complimentary breakfast - our guests do report to us that they enjoy such a plentiful variety. We hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Handy location just off of I81.
Check-in was quick and easy.
Discount for AAA but not sure about military
Staff very friendly and helpful especially the woman in the breakfast area.
Carpet in room stained.
Bathroom small but clean.
Complimentary breakfast served starting at 6:00 am.
The breakfast looked extensive but we only grabbed a coffee and checked out.
There is also a Waffle House restaurant adjacent to the hotel parking lot.

Room Tip: Lots of truckers stay here. One parked the tractor-trailer parallel to the front of the hotel ten f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post a review about your recent visit at the Comfort Inn Staunton. As you noted, we are convenient to I-81 and close to not only the Waffle House but several other dining options. Thank you for your compliments on the friendliness of our staff! Our complimentary breakfast is extensive - with both hot and cold items - and we hope that during your next visit you'll be able to fully partake! We appreciate your visiting us - hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was quite small and the bathroom was very small but the shower was very good. The breakfast was better than that of other similar hotels. The parking lot was very crowded. It was a good location just off the interstate and convenient to restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Our close proximity to I-81 and convenience to so many local restaurants is a nice benefit to our guests. Glad to hear that our staff was pleasant and helpful - we are very proud of the way they take care of our guests. And we tend to agree with your comment that our complimentary breakfast with its selection of both hot and cold items is 'better than that of similar hotels'. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Best stocked breakfast room I have encountered. Iris did a terrific job of keeping things supplied and obviously takes pride in her work. Both the morning and evening front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
'Friendly and helpful staff' is such a nice way to begin a review. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We couldn't wait to share your comments about Iris with her. She has been a faithful staff member for many years and does indeed take pride in her work - especially as you noted in her helping to provide the 'best stocked breakfast' you have encountered. Our complimentary hot and cold item breakfast is a guest favorite. Thank you also for your comments that the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. We hope that you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing