We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop for a night to rest.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great location just off the highway. We checked in late at night and the parking lot was well lit and the front desk clerk was very friendly. The rooms are just average but it was clean. Good spot for an overnight. There is also a Waffle house within walking distance across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnm2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate your kind comments on our convenient location, friendly staff and clean rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the Staunton area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Vacation travel. Going to Rt 11 Yard Crawl tmrw. If you are unfamiliar with the Yard Crawl go just once. We didn't have a reservation but we often stay at Choice hotels. Juanita was terrific. She could not get us a first floor room but put us on second floor near elevator. The room had two queen size beds (very comfortable and with a choice of soft or firm pillows), flat screen TV, fridge, m'wave, and safe. I didn't use the pool but it looked clean and inviting. Parking is convenient and there are two luggage carts if you need them. Room was clean and comfortable with plenty of good lighting. No traffic noise could be heard. AC worked well. Breakfast was typical with choice of juice, cereals, waffles, sausage and eggs, breads and pastries. TV was set on GMA. They honor AAA and AARP discounts.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write such a detailed review of your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Staunton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate the 5-star rating! Thank you for your comments on our helpful staff, clean, comfortable accommodations, convenient location and complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Thanks again for the complimentary review - we hope you found great bargains at the Yard Crawl!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

When we checked into the Comfort Inn the desk clerks were both very friendly. When we entered our room we found urine on the toilet seat and floor. The tub had scum and hair on the outside and the bed linens had not been changed. The clerks were very accommodating and switched rooms for us. The next room was much better but not great. We understand that the hotel is old but that does not mean it can't be clean.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank MsClaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We take all guest concerns and feedback very seriously and we appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We have high standards for the cleanliness of our guest rooms and we are disappointed to hear that these standards were not met during your stay. Please accept our apologies for the state of the first room you were assigned and that the second room, although “much better” was still not Squeaky Clean.
Thank you for caring enough to share your feedback with us. We hope you will stay with us again soon so that we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with a positive one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel. Our car broke down and the ladies at the Comfort Inn accommodated us for additional days. They were very helpful and kind. We felt right at home. Thanks again for everything ladies.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sereeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience. Please know that it was our pleasure to have you and your husband and to accommodate you for your additional stay when it became necessary. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as we would a guest in our own home and we are delighted that you felt welcomed in that way. We hope we have won your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We liked the hotel very much. It was very easy to find. The staff was Great !! They were always helpful and answered any questions we had about the area.
The pool was nice and warm. They also had a nice playground for the kids. Breakfast was good and had a good selection waffles, eggs, sausage and gravy etc .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DinaandEddie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our convenient location and that our staff was knowledgeable and helpful.
Thank you for commenting on the wide variety of foods offered on our complimentary breakfast buffet. It's important to us to get our guests' day started off right!
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We forgot to check the reviews ahead of time, but we have stayed at many Comfort Inns and had a wonderful experience so we thought we were ok.

The hotel and rooms could us a good updating. The staff was wonderful and helpful and the breakfast was good.

The rooms are small, smelled, and plenty of stains on carpets and bed skirts (looked like a small child had thrown up and was not cleaned up). Wi-Fi was not consistent either.

We did report the items to the staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for your loyalty to our brand. Please accept our sincere apologies that all aspects of your most recent stay did not live up to your expectations. While we appreciate your comments on our wonderful staff and complimentary breakfast buffet, we are disheartened by your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the difficulty you encountered with our wireless internet connection. Our management takes all guest concerns and feedback very seriously and we are working hard to address your concerns. Thank you for caring enough to share your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again soon so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Walking into this hotel, the staff was super-friendly and everything seemed promising. However, the only room available was a smoking room so we were a little worried about the smell. There was some lingering cigarette smell, but the mustyness was worse. I am not sure what people mean by clean, because our room had dirt in the edges of the carpet, some unidentified substance splattered on the wall, dirty grout in the bathroom, and the shower was dingy as well. I will say that the beds seemed super clean and were very comfortable. I just don't think there is any excuse for poor housekeeping - I was not looking for dirt and grime, it was very obvious. Otherwise, I almost hate to complain because the people who work here were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jami A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave candid feedback on your recent stay. As noted in other reviews, we are generally known not only for our friendly and helpful staff, but also for the cleanliness of our guest rooms. I am very sorry to hear that we did not live up to this reputation during your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure your concerns are addressed immediately. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with an excellent one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-9100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: £71 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing