We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual & Friendly Lunch Spot”

The Pampered Palate Cafe
Ranked #21 of 132 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Lusby, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual & Friendly Lunch Spot”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We ducked in out of the rain for lunch at this little cafe. The menu is impressive in both the number of items and also their excellent descriptions. I had the Texas wrap while my wife chose the Veggie Wrap. Both were very good. We usually don't have desert, but rationalized that we'd walk off the calories. We had the cheesecake and caramel fudge pecan - we shared a few bites of each and they were both very good. Re-purposed old buildings can have some space limitations and this was evident in the tiniest restrooms (second floor). Choose a table near the front of this cafe with a view of Beverly St.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChesapeakeBayMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    48
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute, friendly, & hospitable with great food”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just a really nice, quiet little cafe with suprisingly good food. We went in once for breakfast, once for a late afternoon snack. Friendly, hospitable atmosphere, attentive service. I had the breakfast quiche and some really amazing carrot cake. Don't pass up either one! Only drawback, restrooms require climbing steep stairs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pythonesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Interesting place for lunch”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a late lunch. The little shop is quaint and interesting to browse. Their menu is more extensive than one might expect and the food was great, but not "over the top". Service was friendly but very slow (we were suspicious that one of the two working staff was on their lunch break). Not a big problem, just something to be aware of. They were flexible with their menu which was appreciated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Mass
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of menu selections”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed lunch with hubby while passing through Staunton. They have many choices on the menu and you can also combine soups/salads/sandwiches to get what you like. He had a roasted turkey breast sandwich and a cup of 7 bean soup. I had a Reuben with a cup of chicken n dumplin soup.fresh fruit was also served on the plates. Both were delicious. Serving size was perfect for me but not quite enough for a man. The service was sufficient. Smallest ladies room I have ever been in. The location is great and we were seated upstairs and able to view the street below. We would eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MimiRochester_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute small place!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Great for lunch! Generous portions, and exceptional food. Very quick and attentive service. Seating is a little sparse

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tfabmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Pampered Palate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing