We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice way to spend our anniversary”

Byers Street Bistro
Ranked #4 of 131 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
2 reviews
“A nice way to spend our anniversary”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hostess was very sweet...even tho' there was a waiting list (always a sign you've picked a good restaurant) she seated us quickly since we had hungry kids!
The prime rib sandwich is yummy!
A nice way to celebrate!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lpstahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    201
    39
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
daman24
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Ali was an excellent server. It was our first visit with the new menu. Definitely worth the wait, chicken and waffles are to die for. They never disappoint here!

Helpful?
Thank daman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Good Choice”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was one of the recommended restaurants to try in Staunton while we were there for a weekend get-away. We tried to make a reservation during lunch time but it was extremely chaotic with people standing inside and out waiting for seating. The 2 staff people we asked did not even know if they took dinner reservations but the greeter took our name and said she would put us down for a 6:30 reservation. When we showed up, they did have a table ready for us which was very nice. We were seated upstairs and had a nice booth. I ordered the pan seared sea scallops which were awesome in taste but there were only four of them and they were not jumbo sea scallops like I anticipated, just regular size. For the price of the meal, there should have been at least a few more added to the dish. I ended up with a lot of the added vegetables and no scallops to pair with them. My husband got the special - a red trout dish which he thought was salmon when it was delivered. It looked and tasted like salmon but the assistant manager came over and explained the difference which was nice of him. My husband said it was delicious. It was a bit noisy but not overly so, we had a very attentive waitress and overall it was a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“This is a must”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Found this restaurant on a stop over driving home, what a GREAT find. Had a short wait for a table, but well worth the wait. My mahi tastados were amazing, portion so big I could not finish. My husband had the sea scallops and were some of the best he has ever eaten. Try the fried green tomatoes, my grandmother would approve! Great service, great price, glad we made the stop, would make this stop again for sure. BRAVO to the chef and staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Absecon, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find on road trip”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We searched Trip Advisor to find a dinner restaurant when we stayed in Staunton overnight. Located in historical area in old building. Very inviting location. Enjoyed our meals especially Drunken Shrimp. Children's menu is available. Just don't follow the Google Map direction link from Trip Advisor mobile app. We had to plug address in our Garmin to get there after several attempts at trying to follow Google directions.

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byers Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Byers Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing