We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #15 of 129 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blue Ridge Mountains
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great lunch buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I ate at Taste of India one Saturday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed their lunch buffet. Service was excellent, the food was delicious (as well as the selection on the buffet), and the price was right. We will return!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not a good night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Sadly the restaurant food tasked more like it had come out of a store bought jar. On a postive note the staff were friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DuncanVABeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
634 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Best of Staunton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We are frequent visitors to Staunton, VA but we had not previously tried Taste of India. We are glad we did tonight. If you like Indian food, this is is certainly an excellent choice. They offer many dishes that we have not encountered in other Indian restaurants in the US, including many vegetarian options, and particularly fresh bread, not as greasy as in many Indian restaurants. The prices are amazingly reasonable, and the wine list is terrific for an Indian restaurant, including Malbec, which paired surprisingly well with spicy food. We had Tandoori mixed grills, both the vegetarian and the meat versions; both outstanding. We had an okra dish that was very well done, and I love okra. The ingredients were fresh and flavorful. Service was excellent. And you really won't believe the prices compared with the huge portions. Taste of India is open Sunday night, which is very welcome in a town in which 80% of businesses are closed on Sunday. By all means give this place a try - they have one in Harrisonburg, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This centrally-located restaurant has really wonderful, warm and welcoming service, an attractive atmosphere (Indian decorations inside an old brick building with tall ceilings), and very good Indian food (samosas, tandoori, bhuna, korma, madras, rogan josh, dal, basmati rice, etc.). We lived in Glasgow, Scotland ("curry capital of Great Britain") for ten years, and we'd give this place four out of five stars. The service here is really exceptional too - definitely worth visiting!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worth a trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was there for a lunch and had the buffet. Disappointed that it wasn't replentished as I thought it should. Food was very good and service was very attentive...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing