We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #15 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Taste of India is the best Indian restaurant in America. Staunton is worth traveling for tastings of the restaurant's cuisine. The restaurant looks like a regular, but the food tastes heavenly. We found this restaurant through recommendations of TripAdvisor. The restaurant staff was very friendly and advised to take a look at local attractions also. Chicken korma was a good choice, the best chicken korma we've ever eaten at any restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Caring Indian Family Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This restaurant stayed open for us during a snowstorm last year, and when we passed through again we had to stop. The owner serves the drinks, his wife serves the food, and it was all lovely. The atmosphere is typical open floor- not glamorous. There are very pedestrian house wines on the menu, but on request, the Owner will open a bottle of something more interesting - he has a collection. We shared a bottle of Virginia red that was very good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Va
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ethnic Food in small town Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Taste of India has been a great addition to food options in Staunton, Virginia. The venue is pleasant, welcoming, and with the appropriate decor, the wait staff friendly and capable. There is an impressive variety of menu options, with your choice of the level of spices, from mild to Indian hot (for me, "mild" is a bit TOO mild; medium suits my taste buds). Beverages include several lassi options, beer and wine, including Indian beers. Prices are moderate, with the lunch buffet being the best bargain, offering novices an opportunity to sample a variety of Indian (well, the cook is actually Nepalese) dishes at a very low price. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BealsKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yummy Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have heard great things about this restaurant and was not disappointed when I went for the first time. The food was delicious, the service was great, and they had a local beer in stock. I had an amazing dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough how great this restaurant is!! My family and I come to Taste of India regularly because we love the food - which is absolutely delicious, abundant, and well-priced - and because Mausam and his staff always make us feel so welcome. The chicken tikka masala, boti kebab masala, and lamb vindaloo are perennial favorites. Make sure to try the samosas, either veggie or meat, and the pakoras. The naan is, of course, a must at any Indian restaurant and Taste of India's is never greasy or burnt. Sometimes there is a tabla (traditional Indian hand drums) player which makes for an even more exceptional experience. Staunton doesn't have much in the way of ethnic food and fortunately Taste of India is an oasis of scrumptious non-American delights!

Helpful?
1 Thank AliMLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing