We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here on a trip from Georgia to Pennsylvania and planned this one out. It was the first time in a long time that I had stayed in a "bargain" hotel and I was quite pleased with what I found. Other hotels in the area were $100 plus and I couldn't justify spending that much to stay for a few hours to sleep. It was dark and raining and not the best outdoor lighting so it wasnt as easy to get to the office as I would have liked. The staff was friendly, I believe her name was nancy, and even changed my room to a ground floor without me asking. The room was clean and comfortable and I slept great. Didn't really test the amenities like Internet, TV or the continental breakfast because I wasn't there long enough so I won't comment on those.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear that you find us to be clean. Thanks for the kind words about friendly staff. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.



Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    156
    59
    16
    15
See reviews for
147
119
47
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This property is very comfortable, clean, well equipped and inviting. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating - more than most other places we have stayed in our 45 years of marriage and traveling. We have stayed here several times when traveling between Tennessee and Pennsylvania. We have never been disappointed. The cost is quite reasonable for the treatment and the ammenities. While there are other nearby hotels/motels, we choose this one for all of the above reasons. Good eateries are very close and shopping and historic Staunton are a short distance away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
July 27, 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear you like the renovations and find us to be clean. Thanks for the kind words about friendly staff. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.



Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Room was clean, 60 dollars, and included continental breakfast. Asked to see the room before we stayed, desk person had no prblem with this. Restaurants close by and free wi_fi.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twstdsstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear you like the renovations and find us to be clean. Thanks for the kind words about breakfast item . I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.



Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Nice place, not a 5 star hotel but if you need to rest your bones before the next part of your trip this is a good place. Free wi-fi, free breakfast and the nicest staff you can find. Not a Marriott or a Hiltob but not the price of those places either. Doors open to the parking lot and room had plenty of space. They seem to still be working on the final touches of the remodeling. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonomuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear ,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear you like the renovations and find us to be clean, and friendly staff. Thank you again for taking the time to write about our motel and sharing your feedback with the travel community. I look forward to seeing you again .


Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I booked a room here based on the reviews on this site and would say that It was just what I expected and I was not disappointed. It is an older property going through various stages of renovation. The rooms are pretty small and the decor is a bit dark but my room was clean, included a microwave and fridge, and everything worked. It was quiet even though it was located near the highway. the check in service was really cordial and helpful. I had a minor issue with a sticky bathroom door, but the management here is definitely active in fixing problems and keeping the place up. This is not a fancy place, but if you are looking for a good deal you can not go wrong here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkrchrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you found the rooms clean, and staff is vary nice .We done some room renovation and we are still improving the hotel so you will be sure to notice even more upgrades on your next visit. Thanks for the kind words about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was driving through the area and spent a night at this hotel. The room I had looked to be recently remodeled and was very clean. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear ,Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to hear you found the rooms clean, and staff is vary nice . Thanks for the kind words about the service . See you next time!

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beattyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
162 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Spent two nights here in May, as I used Staunton as my base for a short day trip to Washington DC. I had previously stayed at the Microtel Inn here, as well as the Quality Inn. The Microtel was full and I needed something closer to the main highway into town (US 250) so that ruled out the Quality. The weekend I was there, most of the hotels and motels in the area were either full up or had raised their prices to outrageous levels because of UVA's graduation. (Seriously, $250 a night at the Hampton? Do they think I'm on crack or something?)

I opted for the Red Roof Inn because of its reasonable prices as well as decent reviews here on Trip Advisor. The room was comfortable and clean. It had a microwave and refrigerator, which was helpful. Exterior corridors allowed me to park right outside my room; that is when a bunch of motorcycles didn't have the lot all jammed up. There must have been some sort of motorcycle event going on in the area because the place was full of them.

Location is just off US 250 near I-81, just north of the I-64 split. Some restaurants are nearby, and there's a lot of shopping and other food choices on the other side of I-81, toward town. Five Guys, Sheetz, Walmart, Chili's and lots more.

There were a few shortcomings, however, that when put together allow me to only give this an "average" rating although it was a nice place to stay. Water pressure in the shower was very low. The wi-fi was extremely slow. Not a lot of electrical outlets available for plugging in the laptop, charging the various devices, etc. And there were very few channels available on the television. I thought the price was a bit high for the venue, but I didn't have a whole lot of choice in the area on this particular weekend.

I didn't get to have breakfast because I was in a hurry to go to DC on Saturday morning, and slept late on Sunday morning.

All in all, it was an OK stay. If you want a clean room with comfy beds, and don't mind slow wi-fi, low water pressure in the shower and little to choose from on the TV, then it will be a great place. Would I stay here again if in Staunton? I'd consider it. There was nothing to make me not want to stay, but I know there are better choices in the area so it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millenniumhwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I was happy to see that you noticed our recent renovations, we are in the process of updating all rooms. I apologize that WI-fi was slow.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about our motel and sharing your feedback with the travel community. I look forward to seeing you again .

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing