We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights at Staunton VA Red Roof Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two nights at Staunton VA Red Roof Inn”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter, my dog, and I spent two nights, both going to and returning from Washington, DC, at the Staunton Red Roof, this past week. I got to know Ramish (Sic?) the manager, and several of the guest who stayed there. The staff was courtous, the food great, the rooms clean and spacious, and the service excellent. I intend to stay here often on my trips east.

Room Tip: We like bottom floor since travel with dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    160
    61
    17
    17
See reviews for
150
124
49
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My expectations were not too high for this reasonably priced hotel and the room we had was fair, clean, though the security chain was broken. The reason I will never return is that I witnessed a disturbing event at the front desk upon checking in. A gentlemen of color walked in and asked if he could get a room and was told that nothing was available for the night. After he left, less than 3 minutes later, another man came in (caucasian), and asked if he could get a room and was told it would not be a problem. Hmmmmm???? Make your own conclusions, but it was fairly obvious to me that discrimination is alive and well at this hotel. My only hope is that the corporate folks at Red Roof Inn will see this and dig into the matter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel and also thank you for letting us know your concerns. I am very happy that you enjoyed your room and your stay. I want to assure you that at our hotel we treat everyone as equals. I am sorry that it appeared differently in this case. We are a minority owned hotel and are happy to serve everyone equally. If you would like to discuss this issue more please feel free to call the hotel and speak with us about it.

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a 2 star, maybe a 3 star property that rises to 4 stars by sheer dint of effort.

The room was immaculate. Seriously, I have stayed in any number of places, quite a few of them much more expensive than this Red Roof Inn, and never seen anything cleaner.

The furniture was better than I expected, the room had a 'fridge and a microwave, and breakfast was exceptional. What sold me was not the biscuits and gravy, but the cinnamon and raisins for the oatmeal.

Any place could be improved, and I wish this one had better TV reception and a faster internet connection. So it doesn't quite rate 5 stars.

One word of warning: if you are traveling with a pet, call the motel directly and let them know your travel plans. Although Red Roof Inn is pet friendly, this place is quite popular, and they will be better to accommodate you if you give them friendly 'heads-up'

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike_Spiegel_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. It is very nice to hear from guest has a good experience as it should be.I am very happy you enjoyed breakfast. Thanks for your kind word about front desk staff.
we are working on for better TV reception and a faster internet connection. Wright now we don't have cable service available but cable company bring service some time soon. please accept my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Thanks, Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Checked in on Wed October 9th and front desk staff was very pleasant. We we're put in a room in the back far end of the motel. Went in unpacked and looked around. The air conditioning unit and floor was full of leaves. The bath tub and bath mat were full of leaves. The furniture was thick with dust. Then we saw the Stink Bugs on the ceiling, walls, bed etc. the icing on the cake: a mouse ran across the room from behind the fridge. We quickly packed went to front desk and asked for a refund. The attendant was very apologetic and re credited my account and at my request cancelled led the reservation for our return through the area. I have never been in a place so disgusting and have stayed in other Red Roof Inns that were very clean. This one should be closed down.......AVOID this place unless you want to sleep with bugs and vermin !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ieie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Staunton Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

I am very sorry you had to encounter the issue with Stink Bugs. They are at epidemic proportion in PA- MD-RI-DE-and Va. It is not only an issue in the hotels but in all of our homes and other businesses There really is no way of controlling them as we have tried. As soon as the weather cools they are gone

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thanks,Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed there on 9/30/2013 for one night. Very dated hotel. The room was clean. The bathroom is really dated -- tile floor, no counter space, small bathroom. The staff was very nice, especially at check in. Breakfast was typical continental breakfast -- bagels, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, etc.
If you are looking for a stop, it is OK. I always look for the clean places. It was easy to find, but I think I'll look for something else if I'm ever in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Good for a quick stop but I'd try to reserve somewhere else for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Staunton Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thanks,Regards,
Ramila Desai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I've struggled for the right word to express my experience of this hotel. In short, I would say "cheap". By that, I mean the property takes the cheap way to do everything. Examples: the flat screen TV might as well have had bunny ears as the viewing was horrible; no electrical plug in at the desk (in todays world who doesn't travel with electrical devices?); in the shower there is no grab bar (it is outside of the shower where it does no good); even the breakfast area shout "cheap" (serving bisquits and gravy on 5" plastic plates? Do they do that so you won't take so much?). Finally, I would just say this is a basic, clean property. If you are o.k. with that good. Don't look for amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwnative44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Staunton Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Thanks,Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wytheville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed at The Red Roof Inn at Staunton, VA last weekend and was amazed at the friendly, courteous and very helpful assistance of the managers. They helped with printing documents I needed to perform a wedding and responded kindly to repeated request to print pages- even delivered them to my room. Well stocked and clean snack room and the kind of service that used to be commonplace but is now, sadly, rare.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBlount579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. It is very nice to hear from guest has a good experience as it should be.I am very happy you enjoyed breakfast. Thanks for your kind word about front desk staff. we appreciate your kind word and time,
Thanks,
Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
271 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing