We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than anticipated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Hampden, Maine
1 review
“Better than anticipated”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We travel at least 2 times per year from Maine to Tennessee to visit with my elderly parents. We are usually just looking for a clean, inexpensive place to sleep & shower near the interstate. Based upon price and convenient location, we picked this Red Roof Inn. Expecting just the minimum...boy were we surprised! It's wonderful! First thing we noticed when we walked in was that the room smelled really good - the next thing was how beautiful and NICE the beds, furniture and bathroom were. The staff was friendly and helpful, there is a great looking pool and breakfast available in the morning. Really good restaurant next door & convenient to gas & other shops just across the overpass. This place changed from just a place to sleep for the night, to a place I want to return to with enough time to enjoy the amenities! We've actually made a note to come back to this particular hotel next time we travel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review and your kind words about our property. I'm really pleased to see that your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations. Our staff works extremely hard to make sure that each guest experience is a positive one. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel back through Virginia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    158
    59
    17
    16
See reviews for
149
120
48
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I needed a clean inexpensive hotel. This hotel was listed in the coupon book found in rest stops. It was inexpensive, very clean and comfortable. Check-in and check-out were hampered by slow computer system, but the staff was friendly and attentive. The hotel is located off the intersection of two major highways with adequate restaurants located near bye. This was a great find!

Room Tip: Since the hotel was far enough away from the highway all rooms should be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your quick stop with us and we hope to see you during your future travels through Virginia. I would also like to apologize about the delay during your check in and check out. We were experiencing some technical problems after a recent storm, but that will not be an issue in the future. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you next time!

Guest Relations Manager,

Hunter Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludowici, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has just recently been remodeled. Our room was very nice and clean, it had a frig and microwave in it. The hotel has an wonderful indoor pool and sauna. There is a cafe right next door, only a few steps from the lobby area of the hotel. The free breakfast at the hotel, in the morning, is varied and very tasty. It a very nice place to stop for the night. If you are military, active or retired, make sure you let them know, you do get a discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAROL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our amenities and the buffet restaurant that's conveniently located next door. We hope to see you next time you're traveling through the Shenandoah Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was a great place to stay. We ended up staying both ways on our trip. Rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly. We had the updated rooms. They are worth the few extra $$'s. We stayed at other Red Roof Inn during this trip and this by far was the best. Wifi worked all the time. This was an annual trip for us and if we pass this way again -- will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. We appreciate your business and thank you for choosing our Red Roof Inn while traveling through Staunton. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip through. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The rooms are very clean. And the staff pays such close attention to details. Right down to making sure the toilet paper is folded into points at the end. I was very impressed with the cleanliness. Five thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyb3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. It is very nice to hear from guest has a good experience as it should be.I am glad that you like staff.Thanks for your kind word about my property

We hope you see you again during your future travels.

Thanks,
Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay! Very clean and updadted and great prices!! The staff is also excellent!!! Ill stay here again! Pets are ok too!! They pay close attention to detail! They have many comforts as well... Like coffee maker and hair dryer!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin7314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback about our hotel and hotel staff. We always strive to make our guest happy .The staff and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience, We hope you come stay with us again .

Thanks, Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very clean room, well appointed (premium king). Will stay again without question! The room has obviously been updated recently. Breakfast in the morning albeit limited but a spiff for most Red Roofs!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfrombingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback about our hotel. It is very nice to hear from guest has a good experience as it should be.I am glad that you like new room, Thanks for your kind word about my property

We hope you see you again during your future travels.

Thanks,
Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Property: Red Roof Inn Staunton
Address: 42 Sangers Ln, Staunton, VA 24401-6712
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Fitness Center, Flat screen tvs with 100 HD channels and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing