We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    256
    181
    66
    35
See reviews for
219
195
89
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My family stayed here in July and we really liked this place. It is an older hotel, but the rooms are very well maintained and the beds are comfortable. The kids loved the very large pool which was also very well maintained and it was a great location to downtown Staunton. We would definitely stay here again as it was an excellent value for the price and the room was large and comfortable.

Room Tip: I think all rooms overlook the pool and our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2travel725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The building & in room TV are old but the room, bathroom, linen are clean. Bed is comfortable and it's near some EXCELLENT restaurants, Shakespeare Theatre, & small boutique shops. The neighborhood is quiet & staff is friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eekgads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have never stayed in a Howard Johnson Express, but when my husband and I needed to stay in Staunton for 1 night, the price was right, and the room was quiet and comfortable. My request for a top floor room was honored (check in was a breeze!), the bed was comfortable, and everything appeared to be clean. The best part about this hotel is that it's so close to town! Two blocks away, and you're right on Beverly Street. There's also a trolley that stops at this place and it's a 25 cent ride if you'd prefer not to walk. The bathrooms need upgrading, but for a one night stay, it wasn't bad at all. Plenty of pillows on the bed, the comforter looked new, along with the bed skirt. There was a small fridge in the room, as well as a microwave. We didn't go to the breakfast because there are many other places to grab a bite to eat in the mornings. Overall, pleasant stay with no major issues. We would most likely stay here again and pay half the price as we would at other places that are farther out of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Adequate, but far from excellent. The breakfast was chintzy: margarine, but no butter; watery orange juice, with no flavor or substance; cheap syrup for the prematurely-thawed waffles. The whole ,place could stand updating and repairing, as with the parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank schluetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
206 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
363 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing