We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff....exterior of building well-kept...lobby...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Staunton
1 review
“friendly staff....exterior of building well-kept...lobby...”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

friendly staff....exterior of building well-kept...lobby neat and clean....room was okay. needs updating. fairly clean but for old food found in microwave and empty soda bottle behind night stand.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mark I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    243
    175
    60
    32
See reviews for
205
189
87
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

First the good. Got to check in early, about a half hour. Was upgraded to a room with a mini fridge and microwave, since we were staying 2 nights. (However, our friends who checked in a little later, who were actually staying 3 nights, were not offered the same.). This is a pet friendly hotel, which is why we booked here, friends have 2 little dogs. Rooms are large enough. And finally, the location is perfect for walking to everything.

Now the downside. Bathroom suitable, but needs upgraded. Lobby had an odor to it, which they seemed to try and mask with a very strong air freshener. King size bed, felt like we were sleeping on a board. One of the pillow cases had make up smeared on it. When I called the front desk, attendant told me he could not bring me a new one, as he was alone, and couldn't leave the front desk. He checked to see if he had a replacement, that I could retrieve. Let me tell you, it didn't make me feel any better. Don't know where they had it at, but it wasn.t much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel shower was dirty, the coffee maker was dirty, the free lotion had dirt on it. There appeared to be urine on the bathroom floor. Won't stay there again. Stayed over night to go to another town nearby Saturday and the hotel was convenient to the other town. The price was good at around $70 per night but was one of the worst places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Staunton hotels

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Fairly clean and convenient and courteous. The rooms were adequate size for an overnight, but tight for extended stay. The desk personnel was courteous and able to answer questions about the area. Was not overly excited about the stay and have since found better accomodations at the same price in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbett36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing