We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to save money on a hotel, won't do it again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was ok for the short time we stayed (overnight, and it was close to downtown), but I felt like I needed to take a shower when I got home. The bathroom was probably cleaned but still looked dirty and old, the sheets had weird old stains on them, and the blankets had some holes. Wifi was free but very weak signal. I guess you get what you pay for. Next time I'll cut the budget for food, not the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night while passing though. The room was acceptably clean, the bed was clean (although the fitted sheet didn't fit very well), the bathroom was mostly clean-it could have been vacuumed better. The staff was friendly and accommodating (gave us easy directions to a place to eat). The breakfast was minimal but looked fresh. Very cute little town

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stephaniejoyhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A little ways off the interstate, but not too bad. Front desk who's name was Andrew very nice and helpful. Room okay for the price. Clean bed and comfortable. Room & bathroom clean. The whole motel needs sprucing up...is old...needs to be refreshed. Continental breakfast was ok..Impressed with their outside garden...Did not use pool, a storm was brewing. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank billhambor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very old hotel. All furnishings were dated but appeared clean. Ice bucket was moldy, so now I am wondering how clean the bathroom really was? Front desk exchanged the ice bucket for a second and then a third one that were somewhat cleaner, but still looked like they could use a disinfectant wipe.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you are not picky, please stay here. I checked in and found that the mattress had stains that were years old. The bathroom tub had never seen comet. Sad, since this is in a prime location for the historic area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was hesitant to stay here at first because it is a older hotel, and yes it is not fancy but I didn't expect it to be so was very happy with it. could not have ask for better mangment they will help you with anything you ask for the nicest management I have ever dealt with. and this is the best hotel to stay in if you are going to the downtown area, trolley is in the parking lot are you can walk it is not a very far walk. hotel is clean has a pool. and the bed was comfy. and it is not far from the gypsy hill park. great town and great hotel. will stay here again. did not try the free breakfast, just because we are not breakfast people, so I don't know how it was. the staff did tell us where it was and suggest we try it. stay here you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
481 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
921 reviews
3 mi away
Sleep Inn Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
#4 of 15 in Staunton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton

Address: 268 N Central Ave, Staunton, VA 24401-3309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range: £47 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing