We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Visulite Cinema

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Visulite Cinema
Ranked #1 of 4 Fun & Games in Staunton
Attraction details
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

At last Staunton has an indie movie theater! Somehow the Visulite gets all the best reviewed films AND a lot of the mainstream blockbusters. The theater is state-of-the-art, the staff is friendly, they have gift certificates, and the popcorn is good!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AnitaJoye
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Fun!”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We are glad to have another dollar theater and one on our side of town. All features are $2. Unlimited popcorn for $7. Staff is helpful and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good theatre”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Cushy seats, good screen and sound. Super location--near Split Banana gelateria. Did not try the popcorn.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Most Comfortable Seats in Staunton!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My husband and I frequently see movies at the Visulite, either alone or with movie-loving friends. We are rarely fans of the 3-D movies as the content is most often for the juvenile audience, but we love that the owner brings the more "art movie" kinds of movies that often never arrive in towns the size of Staunton. We have also particularly enjoyed the special productions, such as the anniversary production of "Les Miserables" (superb) and classic movies. We went to see "Casablanca" twice as we have never before seen it on the silver screen! Opera lovers can see simulcasts from the Met in NYC.

The seats in the Visulite are particularly comfortable, like sitting in your favorite easy chair. There is also ample leg room and a place on the arm of the chair to place your drink. Unlike many other movie houses I have been in, audiences are polite and do not talk or otherwise distract during the performance. The popcorn is always good and they are happy to give me gratis a large cup of tap water. Bottled water is also available for sale.

Seeing a movie at the Visulite is a most pleasant experience!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Neferteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyman, maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“saw a movie”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

fun...cool in the theatre - took me back in time....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lou n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Visulite Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing