We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe Cabin Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We wanted to stay in the camp ground tent area but a bad rain storm was coming through. we asked if they had a cabin and they told us they had a deluxe cabin. This was a great cabin, shower, linen already there and on bed. It was like staying in a hotel room. It was great. These deluxe cabins are nice. there was also a TV, Small kitchen with all the utensils. We went to the store and made pasta. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Quiet place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

This campground is very pretty we stayed in the RV pull through area and the view was fabulous. The staff was helpful, one note make sure you dump your trash right away in the morning, I got yelled at for dumping my trash later in the morning next to the office. Hook ups were nice, not a lot of water pressure though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My fiancé and I wanted a weekend get away. I paid for two nights and this morning we are leaving! We were about to leave as soon as we got here but our friend showed up! Anyways I asked them to relocate us they wouldn't! This isn't like a usual koa it's horrible! The fishing sucks! And this place is extremely per priced at this point I would have rather slept in my car last night rather then sleep in this stink bug and roach infested cabin they have us in! The fridge had mold and hair on it and the windows don't close at all! The door kept opening all night! And the mattress is hard as rock! I will never come to another koa if it's anything like this! Ill be so glad to leave this place! It's horrible! I haven't ever written a review on any place at all, but this place is seriously the worst!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dess1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at this KOA on our way to New England on vacation. We stayed in one of the Kamping Kabins, which is pretty much the most basic accommodation you can stay in, but was very adequate for our needs after a long day of driving. I have stayed in many KOAs in the past while on vacation in an RV, and this one would be very good for spending the night in an RV, as it is very quiet, wooded, and has full hookups with pull-through sites available. Although the campground is a little bit off I-85, I would definitely recommend this campground to folks towing a travel trailer or looking for a quick one night stay in a Kamping Kabin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GooseMSU07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We went with our family and rented 2 cabins for 3 nights...it was a perfect get-away!! We loved the pool and all of the grassy area for the kids to play. The playground was fun; kids were obsessed with the neat wooden train and the tall-ish slide. Karaoke on Sat night was ...entertaining...haha. We opted to rent a golf caft which was a little pricey @ $90 for the weekend but well worth it. Cabins were about what we expected; small, simple and really all we needed for a short trip. Nearby is the American Frontier Museum, which is worth checking out and a nice park with great trails a short drive away. We will most definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

On our way from western North Carolina to the northeast, we spent one night in a motorhome with slideouts at the Staunton, VA KOA.

The pros are: (1) we had a large site with plenty of width for our slideouts and length for the toad; (2) despite the curving roads and hills in the park, our pull through site was level and easy in/easy out; (3) the park itself is heavily wooded and and quite pretty and (4) the campground is only a few miles off Interstate I-81. If you are lucky enough to get a hilltop site like we had, the mountain views are lovely. I can't comment on the amenities (pool, etc.) because we only spent one night and didn't have time to use them, but everything looked well-maintained. It also looked like there were a number of activities scheduled within the park to entertain kids and adults.

The cons are: (1) The drive from I-81 to the campground is only a few miles, but the roads are a bit narrow with some tight curves. I wouldn't want to make the drive in a large RV after dark. (2) Some of the roads within the park itself are a bit curvy with a couple of short, but fairly steep inclines. In a large RV, it wasn't really a problem, but it did make driving through the park "interesting." (3) When we checked in, the staffer on the registration desk was friendly, but was on the phone and seemed distracted by an issue another camper in the park was having and it took her quite a while to get us registered. She also drove the golf cart and we had to wait about 10 minutes for her to guide us to our site.

Overall, this KOA was a pretty campground and, if we were in the area, we would probably stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmpvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Staff were friendly. Pond had fish and ducks. There was a nice fire pit. It was open and dark, perfect to look at the stars! Far enough from highway that it was quiet but easy for a quick 1 night stay while traveling. Thanks so much!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SailynnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
6.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
909 reviews
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Staunton South
Days Inn Staunton South
#6 of 15 in Staunton
954 reviews
7.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 15 in Staunton
653 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
6.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Address: 484 Walnut Hills Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6936 (Formerly Walnut Hills Campground and RV Resort)
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Staunton
Price Range: £16 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitch a tent, catch a fish, make a fire - come out and make a memory with your family. Camp in the shadows of 250-year-old locust and walnut trees in Virginia's beautiful Shenandoah Valley. Originally a plantation property, the 45-acre Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA is steeped in history yet offers modern conveniences. We're located near Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway and offer lake-front RV sites, shady tent sites, and cozy cabins. Not only that, we're open year-round and will be happy to see you from January through New Year's Eve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing