We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs customer service training and new management/owners”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs customer service training and new management/owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at this location. It has really gone downhill when it comes to customer service and safety. The owner is extremely rude. They have allowed multiple people to take up permanent residence here causing suspicious activity. We witnessed police activity during our stay. The manager is very immature and rude and could use some customer service training. It's a shame because we planned on going to this location every summer, but after this past stay we will never go back. Watch your
Kids! This is my opinion of
my most recent experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mommabirdof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I'm very sorry you and your family had such an unpleasant stay at our facility and wish things had turned out differently. As you state, we do have extended-stay campers at our campground, and one of these campers passed away of natural causes while you were here, which accounts for the police and ambulance activity. I'm sorry you found me immature and lacking in customer service skills and hope you find what you're looking for at one of the other fine campgrounds in Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
48
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for the second time with my brother and his family. This is a halfway point for us and is a nice alternative for a hotel since there are five kids. Grounds are beautiful , stayed in the largest cabin in the campground. We were unable to park both our vehicles at the cabin ( there is plenty of room for four vehicle in this area to accommodate the needs of both cabins ) . Management requires the second vehicle to be parked down the hill in a visitor area in addition to charging you two dollars a day to have second car in campground . However after having toilet troubles even after they came to "fix" it I refused to park my car down the hill considering I had to use it to go back and forth to the bath house to use the toilet. We were also refused clean towels during our 3 night stay! Was told this isn't a hotel! Well when having 8 people and only one towel rod to hang a towel it just doesn't work. When we offered to go ahead and turn in our dirty towels to be replaced with clean ones we were refused . beautiful campground with terrible service from management. Will Not be returning. Also this campground provides rental sites for local permanent residents which also allows all types of not so nice traffic in and out of the campground. Watch your children closely.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dacshundmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
I'm sorry you had a less-than wonderful time at our park. While we have tried to replicate the problems you experienced with the toilet, we have found it flushes perfectly; perhaps the wipes you attempted to flush backed up our system. We will also consider your comments about the towel rods and see if there is an improvement that can be made there to accommodate our future guests. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

WONDERFUL campground....WE had the best time. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and well kept. The fishing lake was fun, the kids were happy catching perch fish. The ducks were adorable and we all got to enjoy their company. The facilities were clean and well stocked...A great place to walk and get lots of exercise with our 2 dogs. The best experience at this KOA was a new dog park, it was very large and a nice sturdy fence so my dogs could have plenty exercise off their leashes. To me, this was wonderful. They have really thought of their customers needs and the furry friends that travel with a majority of campers. They delivered us a free newspaper every morning and picked up my trash with a smile and a friendly greeting. The gals in the office went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, always smiling and courteous. They played with my dogs and were so sweet... I will be returning soon. We travel from N.C. to N.Y. frequently. We will look forward to returning soon. I hope this was helpful to other campers.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TamTam12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
TamTam, thank you so much for telling the world about your great visit! We're so glad you and your dogs enjoyed the new dog park (all ours do, too!). We hope to see you all again soon (especially the clerk in your photo, who couldn't stop talking about your dogs).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

First time here and we were pleasantly surprised by not only the quality of the facilities but the friendliness of the staff as well. We were greeted by every staff member every time we saw one. We had a problem with the cable and there were two maintenance men there to assist us in minutes. It turned out the problem was in our RV and was a simple fix since he was so knowledgeable about it. The pool is very clean and inviting. The kamp store is adequate but a little limited. Overall it is a very well run and well maintained campground. A final note, we were here over the 4th of July and were able to enjoy the fireworks. We were very surprised at both the quality and length of the display! Outstanding!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwdarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
mwdarby, Thanks so much for the kind review. We enjoyed very much having you stay with us and hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have been RVer's for 7 years or so and this is an amazing KOA located close to I-81 in the western part of Virginia. The staff is amazing and even was willing to guide us to our site in a horrible down pour. We stayed on one of their deluxe sites at the top of the hill, which includes a patio, wooden love seat or wooden swing, round picnic table and a bbq (clean and brand new looking). The sites are clean and not too cramped. You have site options on the hill, ones with decks, or near the lake and stream. Their tent camping sites are very shaded and accommodate huge size tents.
We were there over the 4th of July and KOA put on a professional fireworks display within the campgrounds. It was amazing. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking to stay in an area near the mountains, quiet setting and enjoyable staff.

Room Tip: The sites with decks have amazing views of the lake, hills and overall campground. Also, there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vancena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you Vancena for your review! We're so glad that you enjoyed our July 4th weekend on one of our patio sites - we worked hard to plan a lot of fun activities and (of course) our amazing fireworks show, and we're glad to hear our hard work paid off! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Off I 81- easy access. Pleasant staff. Large campground with lake and many amenities. 30 & 50 amp full and partial hook ups. Cable and WiFi. Pet friendly. Clean restrooms and showers. Neatly kept grounds. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thanks, B Z, for all the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family which included a 5 year had a nice time at this camp ground. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was nicer than expected. It was clean, and with the loft for my sons sleeping quarters and toys there was plenty of room. Partial kitchen was stocked with dishes and pans but lacked things like measuring cup and mixing bowls. Nice amenities with pool, playground and fishing, Might be nice to have a miniature golf course in the future. We really enjoyed Candy bingo and the duck race. My son also enjoyed the craft hour and hay rides. The staff is very friendly and made you feel welcome. It was a nice relaxing weekend and we would definitely stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joykati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika Z, Manager at Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Joy - We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! We try hard to plan fun activities and keep our facilities clean and well-maintained and are pleased that you found them overall satisfactory. I will mention the lack of measuring utensils to our head of housekeeping - this was something we hadn't considered! Thanks for your feedback. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
7.2 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Staunton/ Mint Springs
10.9 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA

Property: Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA
Address: 484 Walnut Hills Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6936 (Formerly Walnut Hills Campground and RV Resort)
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitch a tent, catch a fish, make a fire - come out and make a memory with your family. Camp in the shadows of 250-year-old locust and walnut trees in Virginia's beautiful Shenandoah Valley. Originally a plantation property, the 45-acre Staunton / Walnut Hills KOA is steeped in history yet offers modern conveniences. We're located near Skyline Drive and the Blue Ridge Parkway and offer lake-front RV sites, shady tent sites, and cozy cabins. Not only that, we're open year-round and will be happy to see you from January through New Year's Eve. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing