We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Glass Showroom”

Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing
Ranked #1 of 1 Tours in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Watch Art Happen at Sunspots Studios! See live glass blowing demonstrations daily until 4pm. Open 7 days a week. Our gallery/gift shop is filled with colorful hand-blown glass made in our studios. Vases, bird feeders, oil candles, drinking glasses, ornaments and more glitter in our gallery. Blow your own ornament with the assistance of one of our glass blowers. We also carry local and American artisan-made jewelry and accessories, including Alex and Ani jewelry. Don't miss Virginia's most unique shopping experience.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
830 reviews
397 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
“Stunning Glass Showroom”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is worth a walk through, even if you are not in the market for blown glass pieces. They have everything from jewelry to decorative pieces and the prices are more reasonable than you will find in larger cities, and they show works by MANY artists. The real draw is the demonstrations, but unfortunately those end each day at about 4 and we missed them. The visitor's center recommended the demos highly, as does a Virginia guidebook. The shop is open until 6 pm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    59
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover,Va.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glass-blowing demo”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife was intrigued by the glass-blowing process and enjoyed the demonstration. We purchased several items and enjoyed our visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hank357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“beautiful glass”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you are at all interested in glassware spend some time here. There is a glassblower working on site and there are selections of pieces from a number of talented artists that will really impress you. Gift shop has very well curated selections of jewelry, scarves, small bowls and more and staff is just so nice and gift wrapped everything. Nearby there is a shop run by a weaver with gorgeous things (Shenandoah Weaving- ask your hotel, it is by the railroad station). Also a few places to eat so you can make it an afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesburg, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you are in Staunton, VA or just driving through, this is an interesting place to stop. You can watch a glass blower and even make an appointment to make an ornament yourself. (It seems that you don't have to call that much in advance, since some people dropped in and made the "appointment" on the spot. They also have a lot of merchandise for sale in all price ranges. It would be a great place to pick up presents or souvenirs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebraAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming & Unique Find”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stopped by Sunspots today after a visit to Polyface Farms with a group of 18 adults and children. The glass blower was very patient, fun and engaging as he answered all the children's questions, explained the glass blowing process and even made a couple extra pieces at the children's request! The store was beautiful, unique and definitely a place I would love to come back to whenever I'm not with little ones (was fearful that they might break something)! Seeing the glass blower was a great free, family activity!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaToBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing also viewed

 

Been to Sunspots Studios & Glassblowing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing