We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed”
Review of Jimmy Anderson's Casual Gourmet - CLOSED

Jimmy Anderson's Casual Gourmet
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Healthy
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Closed”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Sadly Jimmy Anderson's is closed. People loved it, but thy recently closed their doors and it's up for sale.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank professoressadarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent flavors!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Somehow we missed this restaurant opening in Staunton, but I'm glad we finally discovered it! Very nice flavor combinations, some healthy options, and decadent desserts combined with reasonable pricing makes it a definitely good choice for lunch or dinner. Service was fine and relaxed, (although getting our check took a while), and the atmosphere is clean, and Staunton-charming--meaning it has the antique flavor of the city without being shabby. We're looking forward to coming back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a great little restaurant with lots of atmosphere, excellent food and good service. Have been there for both lunch and dinner. It's quiet and friendly and there's always a tasty vegetarian option. It's my new favorite restaurant in Staunton!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved the food and it was inexpensive. I've had both lunch and dinner there and both times was delighted with the service, quality of the food, and the price. One of the nicest things about the restaurant is there isn't loud music playing so you can easily converse during your meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasCityProfessorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A mixed experience but probably a plus overall”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Three of us ate at Jimmy Anderson's for the first time, and found the food a little uneven.
At one end of the spectrum was a shrimp dish which was outstanding. In the middle was a chicken dish which was properly seasoned and tender and moist, but the accompanying corn pudding was dry by southern standards. At the other end of the specturm was a sausage and potato casserole which was generally overdone and dry (mayhaps too long on the warming table?) and a dry corn pudding.
The featured "cuppy cakes" were diverse and looked attractive, but were not particularly tasty.
One outstanding dish for all of us were the salads, incredibly fresh ingredients and a white wine vinegar dressing to die for. Hats off for that.
The service was quite good (there weren't many there that night so it was not a fair test).
Jimmy Anderson's features a variety of entertainment which is a nice touch. On our visit it was classical music on a grand piano which was delightful but a bit loud for the space. The current operators have redecorated the space and done a very nice job -- it's a pleasant environment.
The menu is constantly changing which bespeaks an amibitious agenda. All in all, I would have to say they did fairly well on this visit.
We would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValleyGuy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Anderson's Casual Gourmet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing