We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big menu, big serving, big time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Street Grill

Mill Street Grill
Ranked #3 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Fusion, Gastropub, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mill Street Grill is a medium-priced, full-service restaurant located in the Shenandoah Valley. Already an established name, Mill Street Grill is also a name synonymous with quality. At Mill Street Grill everything is made fresh daily and based on our own original recipes. We feature homemade soups, sauces and dressings made from the finest ingredients, with hand cut steaks, fresh seafood, garden salads and the best barbeque ribs in the Valley.Full Gluten free menu avaliable as well as Vegeterian items. We balance good quality food with fast, fun, efficient service. All served in the cozy confines of a turn of the century flour mill. Customers always get their money's worth at Mill Street Grill. From our opening 1992, our goal has been to be the most consistent restaurant in the area, and our large numbers of regular customers prove that we have succeeded. No one is a stranger at Mill Street Grill, because we treat our customers better than family.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big menu, big serving, big time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Whenever I'm in Staunton, I eat at what the locals call the Mill. It is always crowded here. And I've gone over a dozen times over the years. Wide variety of items to choose from. I recommend the fried green tomatoes. I also like the cajun shrimp. When you come, pony up to the bar. There will be a wait, but it will be worth and this place has a cozy bar. Big pours. Good stuff. Something for everyone. The peppermint ice cream at the end is so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CCR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    279
    79
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Staunton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stopped in Staunton on both ends of our trip to Isle of Palms, South Carolina. We love the Mill Street Grill for its down home Southern cooking. The ribs are succulent. The fish dishes are great. The appetizers are excellent. The service is first rate.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulreidny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Eat!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

There were six of us for dinner at The Mill Street Grill in Staunton on May 30, 2014. It was very busy but our wait was barely long enough to finish a drink at the bar. Our server was wonderful! She was warm and friendly but not overly solicitous. The menu is diverse and there is something for everyone. You cannot go wrong with their prime rib according to people I was with who ordered it. I had the Mediterranean Mahi Mahi. I encourage you to order that!!! I have eaten at Mill Street 3 different times and I have never had a bad meal or bad service. You will make the right choice in picking Mill Street to dine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenLynneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
240 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Excellent meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a meal here two out of the three nights of our stay as it was that good. Staunton seemed pretty quiet, everything shuts at 10pm! The restaurant was pretty busy, but we got seated ok in a booth and were given a big chuck of warm bread to start with. I wasn't too hungry so ordered the chicken and salad which was huge, I took some away with me. My husband had the shrimp kebabs which were really delicious. This was rounded off by a small portion of peppermint icecream which was a nice touch. Our second visit here, I had the half rack of ribs and jacket potato and they fell off the bone. My husband had the steak, which he said was great also. There was a jazz trio on which was a bit too loud for our tastes, and wasn't conducive to a relaxing meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, wv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand slam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good food (the ribs were excellent), good service (even though the restaurant was crowded we had a wonderful server and a short wait), Nice atmosphere (casual, historical, quirky building), and all at a reasonable price. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MountaineerMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mill Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mill Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing