We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time was had by all”
Review of Mill Street Grill

Mill Street Grill
Ranked #3 of 131 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mill Street Grill is a medium-priced, full-service restaurant located in the Shenandoah Valley. Already an established name, Mill Street Grill is also a name synonymous with quality. At Mill Street Grill everything is made fresh daily and based on our own original recipes. We feature homemade soups, sauces and dressings made from the finest ingredients, with hand cut steaks, fresh seafood, garden salads and the best barbeque ribs in the Valley.Full Gluten free menu avaliable as well as Vegeterian items. We balance good quality food with fast, fun, efficient service. All served in the cozy confines of a turn of the century flour mill. Customers always get their money's worth at Mill Street Grill. From our opening 1992, our goal has been to be the most consistent restaurant in the area, and our large numbers of regular customers prove that we have succeeded. No one is a stranger at Mill Street Grill, because we treat our customers better than family.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good time was had by all”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I shared an appetizer of melted goat cheese, etc., that was quite special (and different). We also had beef brisket that was well prepared and "fall off your fork" tender and delicious. The server was very friendly and professional. I'm sure we would return if we happened to be in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank evelyn_abravanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    300
    86
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ribs.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Casual restaurant with great food. Some of the best ribs I've had. Side of fried green tomatoes which were very good. And the bread and flavored butters are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judymang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Staunton is our stopping point between SC and PA and we are gradually working our way through all the restaraunts.

Mill Street Grill did not disappoint and might just be our favorite.

Enjoyed the bread loaf that was a combination of three different breads. Wife had trout which was very good. I had a Cajun schrimp with green fried tomatoes. My dish was very good with the schrimp not being overly spicey.

Service was very good as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulBeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vestal, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure when we walked in. Not sure when we were seated. Rolled the Dice. Food was good. Atmosphere was friendly. Service was spot on. Liz was so welcoming. Even suggested some local things to do. Had a good time with good eats!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaefferstown
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Down home good food”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stopped here on our way south from PA. We really enjoyed the boiled shrimp dinner; it was tasty and priced reasonably.Sides were good, and not overly large--I had salad and two slices of fried green tomatoes, which were really tasty. Our server was friendly and efficient. Locals clearly like this place--and that is always a good sign. The complimentary peppermint ice cream was a nice touch. This is not high style dining, but the atmosphere is energetic; good food, prompt service and good wine; what's not to like?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mill Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mill Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing