We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly”
Review of The Depot Grill

The Depot Grill
Ranked #6 of 131 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
161 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We're on the road, stopping in Staunton for the night. After reviewing the restaurants listed in TripAdvisor, we chose The depot. Good choice. The restaurant is in an old train station, which has been nicely redone. My steak was well prepared and came with delightful mashed potatoes. My partner's locally sourced burger was nothing special but looked excellent.

The Depot is well worth the try, and a good choice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    193
    53
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lots of ambience”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This restaurant in a segment of the old train station is charming. Fairly casual, but the food was good. We were there for lunch on a Saturday and enjoyed our meal. Be forewarned: the salads are twice the size most folks can eat. You may want to split one between two people. I hate to see food wasted but plates with so much food that not many can eat the entire thing seem wasteful. Would definitely recommend it though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Garden, Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cool bar & friendly people”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Depot is located in the "wharf" section of Staunton adjacent to the train station. Take a few minutes to walk across the Sears Hill foot bridge that crosses the tracks before you enjoy a good meal at the Depot Grill. The large bar at the Depot Grill is reported to be from an old upstate NY hotel. It's intricately carved with brass and marble components. Even if you dine in the main room it's worth a second just to check out the craftsmanship. The food is good, as well as the service, but one goes to the Depot to enjoy the general atmosphere. The renovated warehouse district around the train station is the real draw. The Depot is a good spot for Rail Fans, history buffs and anyone looking for good food & drinks without breaking the bank.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMancuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Neat Atmosphere, Great Service”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We visited here this weekend, while passing through Staunton on a Road trip with 4 kids ranging 6 to 16. The menu was very diverse and there was something for everyone. We got the fried mushrooms after reading several reviews on them. The batter was great and they were very crispy, the horseradish sauce it was served with was very good as well. The Gorgonzola Ribeye was very tasty and I could not finish it, the portion was large. One of the best parts of our Experience here was the Service. Everyone we encountered was very polite and accommodating. Our server Allie S was Fantastic. She was very warm, attentive and patient with our children, even with a spilled drink. The kitchen also accommodated them cooking their kids steak the way they liked them. The building was neat and they had a large bar at the front that looked like a good place to sit and grab a drink. Glad we visited and I would recommend it to others.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All Aboard!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was my second visit to the Depot Grill. Love the atmosphere; they've done a nice job converting the old train station while retaining original floors, woodwork, doors, etc. Wait staff was very friendly and courteous. I ordered the same dish I had my first visit: bourbon glazed salmon. Just fabulous! Didn't try any desserts either time because I was just too full at the end of the meal. Side note: free WiFi is available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmstptvb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Depot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing