We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wine selection, convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yelping Dog Wine

Yelping Dog Wine
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wine and Gift store specializing in gourmet cheeses, meats, and grilled cheese sandwiches. Wine sold by the bottle or by the glass. 50 Craft beers available as well!
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good wine selection, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We went there to buy some Virginia wines- good selection of wines from the immediate area with good help from the staff. We had finished the first bottle ("R" from Livingston Winery) which was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious grilled cheese and great wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The menu is limited but if you are in the mood for grilled cheese, this place cannot be beat. Their grilled cheese - creatively made with a variety of other ingredients - is outstanding. Also gorgeous setting inside and a wide variety of wine to choose from. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank King2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great selection of wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The staff was very knowledgeable about the different wines and the selection of wine was excellent. We had a plate of cheeses and crackers that was pretty darned good too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent cheese selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stopped in for a quick nibble and a glass of wine, killing time before dinner. They have a nice, but limited wine selection by the glass (limited especially for a wine bar). Very nice cheese selections and the cheese plates are more than generous. My only complaints would be that a) I like my whites colder than 50° and b) they only have two types of sausage for their charcuterie selection. Overall, a pleasant experience and I would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ServersDayOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. W. Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch or pre-theater stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We went in for lunch before catching a matinee at the theater. The wine selection is amazing-- and we ended up taking several bottles back with us. There isn't really a kitchen, but they fix a variety of cheese plates with different fruits, nuts, cured meats, etc. and bread/crackers. Plus there are fabulous grilled cheese sandwiches. The food is perfect with wine (or their beer selection) and it is fun to browse in the wines with help from the experts who can tell you about them. Just when I thought downtown Staunton couldn't get any better this comes along as a great addition.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pr0fess0rPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yelping Dog Wine also viewed

 

Been to Yelping Dog Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing