We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay Once Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great staff. Great location. Rooms on historic side can be small & a bit quirky. Do be aware that if you are there of a Friday or Saturday night, there are often events in the two ballrooms that spill out into the lobby and can be a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We chose this Historic Inns of America because of its location on a trip[ from north/central NJ to the Charlotte, NC area and because we like staying at places that have A lounge and restaurant where we can relax after driving many hours. This had those, but we were a bit disappointed that they were a little less elegant tan we would have liked. In fairness, the hotel had few guests at the time (not a time when there are many travelers, 11/20/2013) so the lounge/restaurant had only one other guest. The server was good as was the food.

Tom C.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THOMAS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is a very high quality hotel at a very reasonable rate. Located in downtown Staunton rather than at the interstate interchange, many entertainment venues such as restaurants, theaters, historic sites, stores, etc. are within easy walking distance. Even if staying just one night, being able to walk to good restaurants is a great benefit. As for the hotel, walking into the lobby, one encounters an impressive, immaculate site. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Overall, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob_mu_grad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Some grand old hotels are mostly old, some have charm, a few offer both. Not a luxury property, this is a great choice when compared with all the national chain hotels in the area. A little more expensive, but very comfy.

Room Tip: We took the first room we were shown and are happy we did. Quiet area, get a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having stayed here many times over the years, the service somehow seems to get better and better. You can't help but feel the history of the place and we have always been quite comfortable here. The proximity to the American Shakespeare Center is a huge advantage and you can meet some of the cast on Friday nights in the lounge if you are lucky.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just stayed one night in this wonderful hotel in beautiful Staunton. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. The lobby is sparkling and beautiful. We chose to stay in the historic section and yes the rooms are a bit small, which might be a problem for longer stays but was perfect for us. Everything was updated and very clean. The staff at the front desk was incredibly helpful with maps, reservations, etc. We arrived very early, around 9:30 am. Our room was ready and we quickly parked the car in the convenient parking around the street, took the elevator up, dropped off our suitcases and were off to enjoy Staunton for the day. We had booked a package which included breakfast, parking and theater which I thought was reasonable. I found breakfast to be excellent (we were there around 7:30, so it was very fresh). The theater seats were excellent, better than what was available online when I tried myslef, and it was so nice just walking next door when the show was over. We had a wonderful day exploring Staunton on foot and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the City.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Rooms in this restored veteran tend to be a bit on the small side, but have been well equipped. The bed was comfortable and it was easy to control the temperature of the room. If you like older facilities for the atmosphere the provide, you will like this place with its vintage red sign atop the roof.

Suggestion: if you want breakfast, walk down the street a block to and find assorted alternatives. The notion -- which apparently the hotel management believes -- that you can dump food into warming containers, leave it unattended for an hour or two, then have something worth eating is down right dumb. It is certainly not worth paying for. The hotel could help itself by fixing this.

Room Tip: The desk told me that if you ask for a larger room, they will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapertonGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
878 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: £93 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing