We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Why Not??? I think so!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

An excellent rating? Well yes, anyone can find something wrong and the sharper your eye for failure the quicker you will write your negative review. I try to stay positive, but have posted some negative reviews when I just had to. The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is Excellent. I have stayed a few times over the last five years. I am a budget traveler and usually stay at the HoJo down the street for $60 a night. When I find a deal at the Stonewall I stay when in town for Shakespeare at the American Shakespeare Center, steps away from the hotel. This visit my stay averaged $100 a night and I had a gift certificate. I got an email the other day from the hotel offering an $85 a night deal. The usual rate is beyond my wallet. Now you know me and my expectations. The hotel itself: I love the history and use of an historic and renovated building. I have only stayed in the old section and I cannot tell that it is old. My room was very clean and very comfortable. Bed was perfect. I only stayed 2 nights and asked for no housekeeping, a note under my door explained that I could get service before a certain time by calling and later in the day a bag with fresh towels was hanging from my door handle. The lobby is beautiful with a restaurant and bar (did not use). There is an elevator that takes you right to the parking garage which is connected to the building (I believe $4 a day). I traveled via Amtrak - the station is a few blocks from the hotel. The indoor swimming pool looked nice and the hot tub looked inviting, but I never made it. Also a fitness center. From the hotel you can walk to all your needs - entertainment - stages, screens, live music/Food - every meal can be found within 5 blocks with more options the more blocks you walk/Shopping - many stores downtown to browse and buy. For me, this place is excellent and all the luxury I need. For those who need someone to tuck them in at night this may not be worth 5 stars, but for your average American, this is an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roonwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We really enjoyed our trip while staying at The Stonewall Jackson. The hotel recently received a complete rehab which was pictured in the lobby area. It was very interesting to the transformation.The rooms were very nice and clean, a step up from your chain hotels. We enjoyed drinks at the bar by the fireplace, there were some good beers and wines available. The indoor pool and hot tub area was very nice. The pool was a bit cold for us but we enjoyed lounging in the hot tub. The staff was very helpful during out trip. Our only disappointment was that they did not have robes available to wear down to the pool area. The town of Stauton and the surrounding area is a fun town to poke around, we had a lot to do and were not bored. If we visit Stauton again we'll be back to the Stonewall!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I have stayed here on multiple occasions in the past two years. This is the nicest hotel in Staunton and is within walking distance of many local restaurants. The staff is very nice and helpful and I would recommend to anyone for both business and personal travel.

My only complaint is the size of the rooms, which is very small.

They offer return visit discounts.

The parking is either included in some room packages or $4 per night. Very reasonable and appreciated since my last trip was during icy weather.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms on the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and had a blast! The staff is so nice and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds. The location is excellent for Staunton visitors. I would certainly recommened this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogarbagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed a number of romantic getaways around central Virginia. This was one of the best! The hotel is stylish, clean, comfortable and very well located close to some outstanding restaurant and entertainment options. It is right next door to the American Shakespeare Theatre. Even though it was cold, I did not bother with my coat for the 20 yard walk. We also very much enjoyed both the hotel food options and some top notch local restaurants like The Shack and Zynadoa. The Shack does not take reservations and you better be there by 5:15 pm if you want a seat before a show. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is different than Greenbrier, Homestead, or Keswick Hall in that it is not as rural. However, it has its own unique grandeur and, frankly, I liked it better because there was a variety of interesting shops and restaurants within a few blocks and the hotel staff provided top notch service. You get top notch service at the other places, too. My point is that we did not feel that we had stepped down in terms of service. We will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view towards the west or south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VASkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was the last night of a long trip as we were heading home from the deep south. We were tired and it was late afternoon when we arrived in Staunton for the first time. Well, downtown that is. We had stopped numerous times just outside of town for gas on our way to WV over the years but never ventured into downtown!

Anyway, we stopped at the Visitor's Center and were greeted by such a nice man who asked what we were looking for in a hotel and said while there were many choices, the Stonewall might suit us well. So we called and were able to book a beautiful room with a queen bed for a great price and the hotel was right around the corner! The room was lovely, the hospitality excellent, the bed very comfy, and parking was only $4.00 a night with the ability to leave and return using our room key! Perfect in every way.

From our hotel we walked to the Aioli Restaurant and had a fantastic dinner and did some window shopping on the walk back. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast in the hotel's lovely dining room and did some shopping at the great stores in town. We were able to do more in a short time there than so many other places! We will return to the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in the future and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieWithrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Love this hotel! Can't wait to return with our kids and attend another play at Blackfriars! Loved walking downtown and visiting all the quaint shops. you must eat at The Clocktower and get the homemade potato chips!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tootie1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 14 in Staunton
925 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Staunton
Sleep Inn Staunton
#4 of 14 in Staunton
393 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 14 in Staunton
227 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: £82 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel will be undergoing a comprehensive renovation from 11/26/17- 2/19/18. All Guestrooms will be renovated as will the Hotel's Historic Lobby, Lounge and Meeting Space. It is our desire to keep the same level of service and cleanliness during this renovation that you have come to expect from us in the past 93 years of operation. Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing