We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but small rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but small rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

As soon as I walked into the hotel the lobby it took my breathe away. It was beautiful and very historic looking. My room was clean, but it was really small. It was just me traveling so I could manage but if I had more people with me it was be really cramped. I went to use the workout room/ pool and they were both small yet clean. I figured with how big the hotel was, these facilities would be bigger. The breakfast however, was really good. There was a lot of great food choices. Overall, a good experience here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    363
    73
    15
    6
See reviews for
280
499
48
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I can add little to the glowing reviews that others have posted. It is centrally located in historic Staunton. In fact the Blackfriar Playhouse is right next door. The interior of the hotel is beautiful, and the staff is very courteous. The rooms are large enough, were spotlessly clean, and were very quiet. The bedding was very comfortable. The pool was clean and nice. The exercise room appeared to be clean and well equipped. The breakfast buffet was very good, and again the staff was very courteous. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thither47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

From the moment my wife and I entered your lobby we were treated with respect and courtesy and was a visual desire to make our stay enjoyable. Being the first time at your location and staying in the city of Staunton, we were offered by your staff a number of suggestions of where to visit in the city and to have dinner. Because we were heading west the next morning we were not prepared for the wealth of history your city offers. Your hotel and the city of Staunton will definitely be on our list the next time we're in the area. Thank you again for a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Decided to write a review after our second stay. Great staff, friendly and remembered us from our first visit. They remembered our favorite room and that we like extra towels. Recommend the hotel as it is close to Woodrow Wilson Library and downtown historic Staunton. It is a historic hotel, clean, spacious and comfortable. Good restaurants within walking distance. Check out Groupon, often you can find certificates for the hotel that includes dinner and breakfast certificates for local restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sloatsburg, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

What a wonderful experience at this hotel...the friendly staff, the exquisite room and the overall ambiance was most enjoyable. Add to this the pool and hot tub, and you have a winning combination. The location could not have been better. It afforded us the proximity to many dining venues and attractions. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZYSHOREGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stopped over on trip from FL. Beautiful public spaces and comfortable rooms. Very recommendable. Historic hotel very well renovated. Very convenient to restaurants and shopping. We hope to revisit and take advantage of Staunton's atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smollica2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
411 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

On our drive from Boston to Charleston, we stopped for the night in Staunton. The hotel was nice and the staff were excellent in all regards. As an example, the next morning we were up early so we could get on the road, and needed the AM caffeine that would make that possible. We asked about local coffee shops and were told none were open. Seeing the disappointment on my face, they immediately offered to get us a cup from the kitchen (which was setting up for the morning buffet). I travel a lot, and this was above and beyond the usual level of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing