We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Treasure”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have been to Staunton many times just because of how quaint of a town it is. The Stonewall was very nice. It is right there where you are able to walk to everything. I don't think we even got in the car once the whole time we were there. The staff was great. The rooms are a little small but it is a historic building so it was a nice size for the age. The rooms were newly renovated and were nice and clean. I will definitely stay here the next time I visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    380
    78
    17
    6
See reviews for
291
519
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife had a conference there at the first of April and I tagged along. The rooms were very clean and the service was outstanding. Now it wasn't cheap to stay or eat at the hotel however it was very clean and very attentive to your needs. I understand also whatever the conference needed they were provided with no problems. We were an hour late checking out due to a conference over run and instead of charging the extra parking fee they made sure they had a person in the garage taking our badges and card keys and not charged extra.
We are going back to see more of the town at the first of may.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel staff is nice, but the rooms are very small with paper thin walls. Disappointed by the lack of electrical outlets, but happy the room was clean. Great location if you want to be downtown since there are several restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast buffet was ok and reasonably priced. They do not grant any late check outs which is fine, but it would have been nice if they would have at least kept my suitcase for me and my coworkers for a few hours.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveFunTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were very fortunate to book a night at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel en route to North Carolina. What a lovely, restored hotel! We were equally charmed by the beautiful town of Staunton with all of his historic offerings, including the birthplace of President Woodrow Wilson which is only a stone's throw from the hotel. Our room at the hotel was spacious and very clean. The lobby was well appointed and featured many photos and memorabilia from the hotel's past. Breakfast wasn't included, so we paid for a fairly typical, nothing special breakfast buffet at the hotel. Next time, we might try a local coffee shop instead. On site parking is additional without a hotel package. Overall, the hotel staff was friendly and courteous. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturelover212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I had driven through and around Staunton a couple of times in the past with the promise to myself that I would come back and stay. I was camping outside of town on a road-trip from New York, and had a night open later in the week with nowhere planned to stay. I drove into town and instantly loved everything I saw. Staunton is the quintessential restored, historical main street. I walked into the Stonewall Jackson (dressed in "camping clothes", and was still treated wonderfully) thinking that it would be out of my price range. It was a little high priced but not as extravagant as I thought it would be, and really was the best location in town. I had a basic, small room, but it was beautiful. Have to admit, I did not spend any time in the room, but the town itself is fantastic. I had a great buffet breakfast in the Hotel in the morning, and stayed around in town as long as I could. Stay more than a day if you can.

Room Tip: Find any discounts you can. Ask at the desk. The more we talked, the lower the rate got. If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is our second trip to Staunton and we highly recommend the Stonewall Jackson. Beautiful restored hotel, spacious rooms, attentive staff, great breakfast! Very convenient to Blackfriars Playhouse, shopping and great restaurants ! Check out the packages with theatre and breakfast!
Convenient parking on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We got a fantastic deal on this hotel using priceline. Didn't know this is where we'd end up until after we purchased. The only catch is that they put us in a handicap accessible room, but that was no big deal to us. The room was very comfortable and the view was beautiful overlooking the historic downtown. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisek59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing