We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Grove, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to find my stay at this hotel to be outstanding, especially since it is an much older hotel than most where I visit for business. The room was immaculate and comfortable, dining was excellent and the staff provided superior customer service. I have never taken the time to rate a hotel before so this serves as a testament to my wonderful stay. Will visit with my family if we are ever in the Staunton area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to see you (and the family) real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    380
    78
    17
    6
See reviews for
291
519
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything was perfect at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. The check-in was so smooth with a clerk who was so welcoming. The room was lovely and quiet (new section) with high-end linens. The parking was easy and convenient. Can't say enough about what a great experience it was and I travel a lot!

Room Tip: We had read to request a room in the new section as it was quieter. It was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know how we are doing! We hope to welcome you once again to Staunton and the Shenandoah Valley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a family wedding at Pippin Hill Winery and due to UVA Alumni weekend we were unable to get hotel rooms in Charlottesville. The Stonewall Jackson Hotel was chosen to accommodate about 150 of our guests. As it turned out, this hotel was the perfect choice. From the moment we arrived the staff was SO helpful, friendly and professional that we knew our guests would be pleased. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The brunch they provided on the day after the wedding was great. Kristina Arbogast, Director of Sales and Marketing, was on site to ensure that all of our requests were met and that we were happy. And we were! Staunton is a lovely town filled with culture, great food and wine and true Southern hospitality. Couldn't have been more pleased with our experience!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytraveler610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the feedback! What a wonderful wedding weekend, we enjoyed having everyone! I will pass along your thanks to Kristina for a job well done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We discovered the Stonewall Jackson Hotel years ago, but have started taking advantage of their theater package on the last few trips. They are located next door to the fabulous Blackfriars Theater, a reproduction of Shakespeare's Globe theater and home to Mary Baldwin College's graduate performance troupe. I have never seen better plays anywhere! The hotel offers a lovely room, parking, breakfast for 2, and two tickets to the show of your choice with great seats for around $200. It's a steal!

Room Tip: We always stay in the older part of the hotel just for historic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Yes, the Shakespeare package is our most popular package, and with good reason! We certainly are spoiled to have them as our next door neighbors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryl
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We were heading to WV for a funeral. My family and I coming from Maryland and my sister's family coming all the way from NY. Looking for a half way spot to stop and rest, I found this hotel online.
As my daughter has a fear of elevators, I asked for 2 rooms on a lower floor when I called and made my reservation with Josh. I also asked for rooms in the newer, renovated section of the hotel. Josh was very nice and personable on the phone.
We arrived in Staunton about 7 pm and I was presently surprised with the surroundings. A quaint town with lots of little shops. The hotel lobby was big and spacious. And there was Josh to check us in and take our bags upstairs! We waited for him to return from our room to show us the way to the staircase. He walked us around and showed us not only how to get back to our room using the stairs, but also how to get to the garage and the pool in the basement.
Long story short. . . Very pleased with the room, sisters's family arrived in the early am, slept very well, decided to stay another night instead of driving all the way back home after funeral. There was no problem with adding an additional night on the reservation. After returning from the funeral, the kids insisted on going to the pool which was very clean. Although we walked down the stairs to get to the pool, my daughter was able to ride the elevator back up to the room.
I would recommend this hotel highly and really appreciate the staff, Josh in particular!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Katitti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethesda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Lovely beautiful historic hotel, but the place is hermetically sealed -- room windows literally glued shut, and the air conditioning is frigid.
This is why we're facing dire climate consequences. Absolutely no need to keep this hotel like a refrigerator on this lovely June night. At least give me the option to open the window!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank mccannjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you're spending some time in Staunton then there's really no other place to be. The Jackson is a bit older than most and that means the rooms in the old section are a bit small but it's very well maintained. The pool in the basement is kept up nicely, as is the exercise room. The raison d'etre for staying there however, is that you can walk to everything you want to visit, and if you want to tour a bit, there's the trolley nearby. The Shakespeare Theatre is next door. Downtown Beverley is just out the door. It's all easy to get to. And breakfast is quite good. Great dining room and good buffet. A bit pricey for some but you can go a la carte. And the staff always appears ready to handle any request or problem. It really makes a trip to Staunton go much easier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
814 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing