We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Staunton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,285)
Filter reviews
1,285 results
Traveller rating
757
410
88
24
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
410
88
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelparking garagenew wingright next doorbreakfast buffetpool and hot tubwithin walking distanceblackfriars playhousehotel lobbybeautiful lobbydowntown stauntonhistoric sectionthe american shakespeare centerrestaurants and shopsmodern amenitiesmill streetwonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 1,285 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in downtown historic Staunton and was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but not hovering. We stayed in a king room that was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and also very clean (my pet peeve of hotels). The pool and fitness room were fine, not busy at all during our stay. It is in a wonderful place to walk around and see the downtown area. I believe we will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGB_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your visit and for your feedback, we hope to see you again as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent one night at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and found it to be very nice. The bed was sooooooo comfortable. The room was very clean and pleasant. The staff was quick to recommend places near the hotel for dinner. We were not disappointed! The cost was comparable to cost of a chain, great surprise. You wouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeEttaWaynesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This beautiful hotel is within walking distance of Beverly Street, the heart of Staunton. Lobby is spacious and welcoming - just be careful with the inch difference from the flooring and the marble. I'm a bit clumsy and found that was an issue - and should be warned or fixed.

Our room, 314, looked out towards the railroad station and mountain range. It was a king room, which was part of the original hotel and thus, the room is much smaller than the queen rooms in the new halls. Nonetheless, the room was quite bright and cheery with beautiful linens and super clean bathroom with granite vanity and upgraded, rounded shower curtain rod.

Despite being around the corner from the elevator, we could still here the beep when it reached our floor. Trains blowing horns throughout the night might also bother a light sleeper.

We did not eat in the restaurant but did witness the beginnings of a wedding in the ballroom.

Bed was hard but seemed to have a pillow top for comfortable sleeping.

Inviting Pool/hot tub and nice sized fitness center in basement.

Room Tip: King rooms are smaller but in the original/historic building
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your comments and for the great photos you took while staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had lived in the area many years ago and always wanted to stay at Stonewall Jackson but never got too. This year while traveling thru we decided to stay a night and weren't disappointed. Very clean, great location and the staff was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time and let us know how we are doing. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A two night stay in the quaint town of Staunton Va. The hotel is rated as 3 star but we were at a loss to know why. This is easily a 4 star hotel. Parking is free at the underground car park.
The Hotel was refurbished a few years ago and the foyer is grand as befitting a "Southern" Hotel.
We had been given a package including a night at the well renowned local Theatre Company which were performing Othello. The Theatre is attached to the hotel and is a mini Globe! The production was fantastic and we recommend you go seed a play, outstanding.
Our room was spacious and well proportioned. Bed very comfortable and all the necessary toiletries. There a small pool and gym.
Breakfast is buffet style but there is also a menu and I ordered freshly made blueberry pancakes and two softly poached eggs. It was perfect. Being from the UK and am unable to drink tea made from "hot water," I told the waitress how to make a pot of tea. She went and did it properly ( with boiling water) and we had a proper cup of tea in the States no less!
The town is short walk away and is full of delightful restaurants and shops. A short drive out of the centre and you will find Klines, a local ice cream shop which is well worth a visit.
We lives Staunton and it is close to many attractions such as The Blue Ridge Mountains with it Skyline Drive, Charlottesville a city which boasts Thomas Jefferson's home Monticello, it is a wonderful tour.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pasty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

There certainly is something to be said about a proper cup of tea! Thank you for the kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. One item of note: The package you purchased includes the cost of parking, which is $6.00 per night. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews