We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We decided to break up a drive from Washington DC to NC by stopping for a night in Staunton to see something new. My husband had read an article in an NC magazine advertising the town with very pretty photos. Although the hotel is quite nice, we are struggling to find anything to do or see here. The town in cute, but not even the locals have much to suggest in terms of sightseeing. It seems like a very sleepy place. I'm assuming that the only attraction here is the Shakespeare Center. The main street is cute, but nothing special. We have a 2-queen bed room in the new section of the hotel. Our room is of average size, clean and comfortable, with a traditional decor. The furniture is in good shape, and there is a flat-screen TV. No fridge or safe. The parking costs $6 per night, and is attached to the hotel. There is a gym, indoor pool with hot-tub, and a restaurant. Wifi is included, breakfast is not. If you want to visit a quaint happening town in the Appalachians, near the Blue Ridge Parkway, I would suggest going to Asheville, NC. If you do want to visit Staunton, this seems to be the only hotel downtown, and the only decent one in all ot Staunton.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a nice view. We are seeing ugly roof-tops from ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for stopping in to stay with us during a recent trip thru the area. Staunton is a quiet, charming city that is rich with history and personality. You mentioned the Shakespeare Center that houses the Blackfriars Playhouse which is the world's only re-creation of Shakespeare's original indoor theatre. There is also the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library right down the street along with many fine eateries and boutiques to shop in. The architecture of many of the historic downtown buildings is something to behold as well. It all depends upon what type of activity you seek, but in Staunton, VA there is something for everyone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here on a family vacation in April to see Staunton. The hotel far exceeded any expectations we had.

Great location. We could walk to so many things, including the Blackfriars Theatre, Woodrow Wilson's house, and many restaurants. Clean, comfortable, and spacious rooms. Friendly, attentive staff. Great buffet breakfast. Excellent pool for a little family fun. The bar in the lobby is a real gem. Fantastic place for a relaxing drink, quick bite to eat, and just hanging out after a full day in Staunton.

We cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Wow! The title of your review says it all! Thank you so much for the kind words regarding the hotel and staff. They all take such great pride in the work they do and are all true hospitality professionals. I will be certain to pass along your sentiments. Please join us again the next time you need a great family get-away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent one night. We both had attended meetings held at the hotel. Everything was in good order, very clean, and staff helpful and friendly. Room was most adequate with a good sized bathroom. We bought buffet breakfast which was very good. It just a block from the main street, entertainment, and a good choice of restaurants. We highly recommend the hotel. Excellent value for the cost. Wifi was also free.

Room Tip: King size beds in older part. 2 queens in newer part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. I appreciate the feedback pertaining to the building, room and staff. I am glad we were able to provide comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price while you were attending a conference at the hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Staunton, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel. One thing i will say is great about this place is that we had a do not disturb sign on the door and this hotel left extra towels and soap. That has never happen to me before. That little thing meant a lot. It is very close everything. It is in a good location.The beds were okay. The view of the parking lot could have been better and having to pay for parking was a surprise. Pool was nice and clean. I would book again if I am back in Staunton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. I am glad that you had an opportunity to venture out and discover some of the great places right here in downtown Staunton. We are within walking distance to many fabulous restaurants as well as art galleries and boutiques that carry something for everyone. During your next visit we will make a better effort of providing a room with a view of our beautiful city. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in this great hotel. The staff was great over the phone and in person. We needed an extra set of towels and unlike most hotels they actually brought them to the room. The carpet was so clean I would have slept on it. Great beds and great location. Very quiet rooms.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 1,771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. I am glad that you found the accommodations to be clean and satisfactory. I will be certain to pass along your kind sentiments to the staff. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to Staunton, VA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our three day stay. A beautiful historic hotel. Nice Sunday brunch buffet offered with very nice staff (on Sunday). The infused water that is complimentary is simply amazing. It is the best water we have ever had.
The hotel must have softened water and our skin and hair felt so much better just after 3 days.
Garage parking is only $4.00 each night. Very nice.
The a/c in our room functioned superbly!!
Our room was small but very nice. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Concerningreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to review the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. It is always reassuring to hear that we have provided the type of experience you expect when staying at the hotel. The infused water has been a tremendous hit and something we will continue to have during the hot summer months as a nice welcome to our travelers. The original rooms are a bit on the cozy side, but certainly contain all the ammenties needed for a relaxing stay. Again, thank you for the kind words and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I saw the Stonewall Jackson Hotel on Priceline's Express Deals for $62 and grabbed it for our stay. Loved this old style hotel. We got a nice king room on the second floor. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The TV had lots of HD channels and the internet was efficient.

Everything in town was in walking distance. The parking garage was convenient as the elevator brought us right to the lobby. The staff was friendly and answered our questions. This is fine place to fine after spending a full day in Shenandoah National Park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I am truly delighted that you were able to join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center after spending time at the Shenandoah National Forest. There are so many great things to do and wonderful places to eat in downtown Staunton, which you point out are all within walking distance of the hotel. It is also good to hear that you found the ammenities and service to be to your liking. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
907 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel will be undergoing a comprehensive renovation from 11/26/17- 2/19/18. All Guestrooms will be renovated as will the Hotel's Historic Lobby, Lounge and Meeting Space. It is our desire to keep the same level of service and cleanliness during this renovation that you have come to expect from us in the past 93 years of operation. Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing