We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel, recently renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel, recently renovated”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Comfortable hotel downtown and close to everything. Staff was accommodating. Hotel has more "character" (in a good sense) than Holiday Inn or Comfort Inns. Close to many good to gourmet restaurants, and safe for walking in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VABicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am delighted to hear that you enjoy the charm and character of our grand hotel here in Staunton, VA. The Stonewall Jackson Hotel has a wonderful connection to the history and community of Staunton that we are thankful for everyday. Thank you for sharing your experience and be sure to join us again whenever your travels roll through the Shenandoah Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    383
    78
    17
    6
See reviews for
293
520
51
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently stayed in Staunton for 2 nights and spent the time at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. The location is great for the Woodrow Wilson Library and downtown shops/restaurants. The rooms were a little small but clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel during a recent trip to Staunton, VA. We are indeed very convenient to the history and small town charm that Staunton has to offer and enjoy hearing of experiences such as yours. Do join us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple of nights to check out all that Staunton has to offer. We bought a Shakespeare package, which included breakfast, parking, and tickets to a show at the Shakespeare Theater next door. The room we stayed in the older part of the hotel was sufficiently spacious with high ceilings, and newer decor and bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Overall, we thought this was a great deal, although the breakfast was just ok. There are plenty of places to eat in town (that you can walk to), so finding breakfast is not a problem. And, the Shakespeare production was excellent, a must see!

Room Tip: Upper floors facing east seem to be quiet. And, you can walk down the fire escape to street level wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel on a recent trip to Staunton. I am glad that you enjoyed the Shakespeare Package and had an opportunity to explore some of the great places right here in downtown Staunton. There are so many wonderful things to do, see and eat all within walking distance of the hotel. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardy, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in Staunton Virginia on several occasions and never have we been disappointed. Two years ago it was for a 50th high school reunion. This year it was simply a get-away weekend. We took advantage of their micro-brewery package and the Shakespearean Theater package. Both were well worth the cost. We saw Comedy of Errors in a matinee show and the performance was superb. Visiting the microbreweries and wine tasting room in downtown was a lot of fun. One of us is a native of the area and always enjoys reminiscing! We took advantage of a hotel issued $15 coupon to the Shenandoah Pizza - great pizza and other fare. The hotel is conveniently located to most all attractions in the city.,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie60744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am so glad that you continue to enjoy the hotel along with some of the wonderful attractions that Staunton has to offer. We enjoy partnering with some of the local establishments such as the American Shakespeare Center and Shenandoah Pizza to offer our guests a true local experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and please let us know the next time your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stonewall Jackson is a pretty nice option in this little town. We stayed there on a Sunday night on a return trip to Ohio from the Outer Banks. Read good reviews about what a vibrant town Staunton is - but on a Sunday night/Monday morning, everything was closed. Very much a liberal/artsy feel in the downtown area, so, if you're into that - you might like it there. Personally, I am revolted at seeing a large communist banner hanging in the window of one of the town's grandest and most historic buildings in the center of downtown. None of that is a knock on the Stonewall Jackson, which is an entity in itself - I just wasn't impressed with the area in which it resides.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I appreciate the feedback regarding a recent stay you had with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. This is certainly a great place to break up a trip along the east coast especially heading to or from the Outter Banks of NC. Thank you for stopping in and we hope you will join us again on your next trip down south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We had a late checkin. When we walked up to the counter, the young man didn't look at us or acknowledge our presence. My husband told him we had a reservation and he still didn't speak.
In the morning, the lady was very personable and even apologized that the glass in the room that my husband drank out of was not clean.
The hotel was beautiful and the
beds were very nice.
Our 2nd floor view was unimpressive but we didn't care much.
I would stay again but the night clerk needs to learn from the day staff how to greet a customer.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lastreet836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I apologize that the check in experience did not meet expectation and will use the feedback to provide better training for our associates in the future. I am glad that you found the beds to be comfortable and the hotel beautiful. I welcome the opportunity to host you again whenever your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I along with our two adult kids stayed here for 3 days. We were in town for a family reunion. We were in and out running and walking all over town. The staff were very friendly and gracious. The accommodations were clean and inviting. The amenities we used were nice(the pool and exercise room). We had stayed here again for the third time over several years.The only disappointment we had was the stinky trash smell in the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starchwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for joining us again most recently for a family reunion. I am delighted to hear that you had time to enjoy the pool and fitness center while also spending time in the lovely downtown area of Staunton. I apologize for the odor from the parking garage and assure you that this has been taken care of. Please join us again for your next family gathering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing