We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked the theater package and had a great time. The hotel is very close to the Blackfriars theater. We enjoyed a couple of local restaurants before and after the show. The breakfast buffet (which is included in the package) was well done. The beds were great—the best I have encountered this summer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway here at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. I am glad you were able to relax, take in a show and enjoy breakfast. Please join us again the next time your schedule allows for another relaxing weekend here in Staunton, VA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    356
    71
    14
    6
See reviews for
275
489
48
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stopped at this hotel to break up a trip from Nashville to Gettysburg, PA. I booked ahead of time and got a good rate, which was a big motivator. We were traveling on I 81 so the Stonewall Jackson was a bit of a trek for us (there are some confusing, twisty streets in Staunton!) but again, the great deal made it less painful. Parking and unloading was a bit of a challenge with my 77 year old mother but the lobby and bar area was lovely and spacious. Historic hotels are not big on room space (ah, Las Vegas has spoiled me!) but they make up for it in charm. We had no view (brick wall) but I would imagine that rooms with a view would be lovely given the downtown location. There's an updated (small) bath with upscale finishes and a comfortable bed and other than the television, that's about it. We ate a light dinner in the lounge down stairs (which was hot and delicious) but at $8 a glass of wine, alcohol was pricey. One interesting perk of the hotel (if you're a pet owner) is that they do accept pets (with an additional fee, of course). My husband and I travel with our pet from time to time and finding a hotel that's not a dump that accepts pets is challenging. We never heard a peep from the well behaved pets at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel but if you are not a dog lover, that might be a concern. Overall, it was a lovely, cozy, clean place to spend the night and I would like to return when there's more time for exploring Staunton.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am delighted that you were able to join us during your trip up from Nashville to Gettysburg. We are just a short trek from the Interstate and well situated to be convenient to just about everything in the lovely downtown area of Staunton, VA. You will definitely have to return when you have more time to explore the many wonderful shops, cafes and restaurants that this charming city has to offer. Don't forget to bring the family pet too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel has been refurbished and updated. The atmosphere is welcoming from the moment one sets foot on the property. Comfortable white wooden rocking chairs line the veranda and set a warm tone. The lobby is spacious with a mezzanine above giving a lightness to the area. Fruit infused water awaits the weary traveler in the lobby. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Located next door to the fabulous gem of the American Shakespeare Center, the hotel is within walking distance of interesting shops, eclectic bookstores, and wonderful restaurants. The only suggestion I would have is that the reading lamps in the rooms be equipped with higher wattage light bulbs. 60 watts just are not enough!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVfanCharleston_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for joining us for a recent trip to Staunton, VA. It seems as though you have discovered the many wonderful things to do that make this community a true hidden gem in the Shenandoah Valley. I appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel and will certainly look into your suggestion regarding better reading lights. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonton, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We attended the Black friar's Playhouse and it was so nice to just walk a few steps to our room after the play. The staff was very friendly, both for check-in and check-out. I would stay here again, good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel after attending a performance at the Blackfriar's Playhouse. The American Shakespeare Center is a wonderful place and we are proud to partner with them for package opportunities for our guests. Be sure to return in the fall and winter when new shows begin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel was very nicely decorated, but it wasn't really my favorite. It is centrally located in Staunton so everything you could want is within walking distance. The service at the hotel is very nice also. It just struck me that you didn't really get anything extra at the hotel. You have to pay for parking ($6 a day), breakfast (which I never tried because they don't serve until 7!), even a refrigerator ($20 a day). Sure the lobby is pretty, but that doesn't do anything for me when I'm in my little room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for joining us at the historic Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center during a recent trip to Staunton, VA. I am pleased that you found the service to be satisfactory and the location of the hotel to downtown ideal. Unfortunately the parking garage is owned by the city which necessitates the $6 per night charge. I appreciate the feedback regarding your experience and look forward to having you as our guest whenever you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiloh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Centrally location in downtown Staunton. You do have to pay $6/day for parking which I missed in reviewing hotel information. (which isn't unusual in a downtown location) They do have it set up so you can use your room key to enter and exit parking deck. Looking forward to return trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beargardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your recent experience and look forward to returning to the hotel soon. I appreciate the feedback and will be certain that the parking information is displayed on reservation confirmation pieces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaefferstown
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed one night on our way home from visiting family in the South. Could not have asked for a better experience--reasonable price, excellent room, easy check in and out....lovely lobby...lobby bar for pre and post dinner drink, and friendly service for breakfast in the a.m. Breakfast buffet was good, but not great--though our server was quite attentive.

Room Tip: other travelers mentioned small rooms in old section; we opted for the old part of building and foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herstoryprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. I am glad you found an opportunity to join us at Sorrel's Lounge for evening libations and that the remainder of your experience at the hotel met expectation. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting your next visit to the Shenandoah Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401-4350
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing