We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise”

Edelweiss Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 129 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

While traveling along Skyline Drive, we saw this restaurant listed in the GPS and decided to take a chance. We had no idea what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. It was like a little piece of Germany in the middle of nowhere. The weather was perfect to sit outside, and they had it decorated with pretty flowers. Although the building is next to a road, it was up on top of a hill so there was very little road noise. The waiter informed us everything was homemade (I think). We had the special, beef stroganoff, and it was absolutely delicious. Seasoned just right. It came with two kinds of cabbage/kraut (one red and one sweet), and noodles. Desert was a very tasty black forest chocolate cake - nice and moist. It was such a pleasant environment and the service was quite good. We did not try any of the many beers available. This is on our list of places to try again when we are next up that way to see what other tasty treats might be on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    123
    45
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
daman24
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Great German food. Lots of options and the portions are large and good quality. Really nice atmosphere for dinning. The only issue seems to be the service. We have eaten there several times and it is always ok to terrible. But great food.

Helpful?
1 Thank daman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
337 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

On a recent trip to Staunton, my wife and I found this gem just south of the city. The rustic atmosphere yells Germany. The food is great. If you are like me and don't know what to get, the German Sampler is an excellent choice. Portions are large and served with family style sides. There is an assortment of beers (both imported and "redneck") that should allow anyone to find something they like. It is great food. There are not that many German restaurants, so this is a gem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannacroix, New York
Level Contributor
440 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Can not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We plan our Spring camping sojourn going through Staunton, VA because of the Edelweiss Restaurant...We book into the KOA - Walnut Hills, set up and go down to the restaurant. It's on Route 340, right at the junction of Route 11, not far off 81. They have many German beers, 20 Adult entrees, a couple of specials each evening, 2 choices for children and about 10 desserts. It's a rustic looking large cabin. The food is excellent, service great! This is about our 5 or 6th year of coming here, and we have no plans to re-route our Southern trip in any other direction. You will enjoy this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something Different and Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just finished eating in here and we were super satisfied with the food and service.

We were coming from Natural Bridge and were looking for something to eat close. We decided to look for something different from a chain. While looking in Trip Advisor we came across Edelweiss restaurant.

We were skeptical at first, but from the moment we walk in, the atmosphere and service was great. The bread was the first item that we enjoyed, followed by the beer. The sampler plate was the best option by far. It allowed us to taste different plates at a great price. The side dishes were excellent...

We will definitely will come back next time we are in the area. It is family friendly and the service is very customer oriented.

Helpful?
Thank walyfipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edelweiss Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Edelweiss Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing