We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel;poor sleep quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel;poor sleep quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We generally enjoy staying at Best Western hotels while traveling, and thought we had found another good hotel here. Check-in was a pleasure ( Angelique was quite helpful ), the room was large, and clean, and we looked forward to a pleasant one-night stay. What no one mentioned was that there were train tracks right behind the hotel, about 100 feet from our first floor room window. Three freight trains rumbling past between 4:10 am and 6:45 am made for a terrible night's sleep, which is exactly what is NOT needed on a long, multi-day trip on the roads. While amenities here are good, if the hotel cannot provide good sleep quality, it is simply not meeting its primary goal !! We definitely did not get what we paid for, and what we have a right to expect here !! First floor rooms facing the back of the hotel are definitely to be avoided. Management must be aware of this but never said a thing. Something quite wrong with this.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid first floor rooms with even numbers. They are quite close to train tracks and noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for your comments. We started off great and then the trains came through. I'm sorry if the desk staff didn't inform you in advance of the trains. They are usually really good at letting everyone know of the train tracks behind the hotel. Unfortunately, these trains are freight trains and do not run on a regular schedule. We never know when one will come by.
I hope you will try us again on your return trip. We can provide you with a room in a different part of the hotel which might not disturb your sleep. I would be happy to assist with reservations. Contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com.
Thanks!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    261
    75
    21
    20
See reviews for
294
280
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great stay at this hotel. After a long day on the road was very happy with the room and staff. Very comfortable bed, Room was nice and large, bathroom very nice. Nice indoor pool. Restaurants nearby for dinner or breakfast.Thanks. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for the nice comments. I'm glad you got a good night's sleep from your long day on the road.
Please visit us again on your return trip. I would be happy to make reservations for you. Contact me at cia@rbnet.com or 540-992-4077.
Thanks,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is right off the highway so it has easy access to reach and then depart from. It has a tiny pool and offers breakfast. The breakfast bar is new and clean. There were lots of choices for breakfast items. The elevator was broken and they found first floor rooms for us. Then it happened to be fixed just before we checked in and we were given back rooms , but not the ones we originally booked. Overall, it was a good place to spend a night and hop right back on to the hghway after a satisfactory breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank cpa7135081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thanks for visiting with us! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and for mentioning our great location. We are an easy exit off of I-81 at exit 222 and just a mile from I-64. There are several restaurants nearby as well as shopping and fuel.
We recently completed an addition of a new breakfast bar and we have a large selection of items to start your morning.
I hope you will visit us again. If I can assist with future reservations, please contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meriden, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stay here very year. Solid service and accommodations every time. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The elevators were not working but its only because they are currently going through a renovation. The hotel is only four floors so not really a major inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for being a repeat guest. We enjoy seeing our friends as they travel.
Good news....The elevator is up and running!!!! Yahoo!!! I rode it myself yesterday and it is a smooooth ride.
Thanks for mentioning our service in your review. We pride ourselves in having a family atmosphere with all of our staff members and hopefully that atmosphere runs over to our guests.
Please visit us again as you travel through the beautiful state of Virginia. If I can assist with future reservations, please contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com.
Thanks,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Travelling to and from Florida, we stayed at several Best Westerns. I am impressed with the consisggent high quality of the staff and facilities. It is good to know that you can count on a good night's sleep when travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for choosing Best Western as you travel. It is nice to know there are people loyal to one brand and stick with them. We strive each day to exceed the standards set forth by Best Western because we want only the best for our guests.
I hope you will continue to stay at Best Westerns and I hope you will visit us in Staunton when you travel through the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia,
Thanks for your review. Please keep writing them as you travel. They are very important to us as hotel owners and operators.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The staff is very accommodating and the value received is excellent. They have remodeled the breakfast area which serves to accommodate their visitors in a very orderly manner with excellent choices on the menu. Located very close to excellent family lunch and dinner restaurants. The added touch to the room décor is the gift of a little rubber ducky as a souvenir, we now have six of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks so much for your review and for being a repeat guest.
We have done a lot to the hotel over the winter months. I'm glad you noticed our hard work and enjoyed the new breakfast bar area and expanded menu. I hope there is something for everyone, if not let me know and we'll see about adding it.
Make sure you add to your duck collection on your next visit. If your duck travels with you, I would love to see pictures of the adventures. Some people have sent some really funny pictures of their ducks as they travel.
If you would like to share pictures or have suggestions for additions to the breakfast menu, please contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com.
Thanks for traveling and staying at the Best Western Staunton Inn.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel has been completely renovated. The rooms are spacious, with two recliners for comfort. The breakfast room offers a good selection of hot foods. While we didn't use the pool, it looked very clean and inviting. However, the price of the rooms has gone up accordingly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 737dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We have done a lot of work over the winter months to make our hotel more enjoyable for our guests. Thanks for noticing and pointing them out. We have added a large new breakfast area and expanded our food selection.
Thanks for staying with us and I hope you will visit us again soon. If I can assist with future reservation, please let me know. You can contact me at 540-992-4077 or cia@rbnet.com.
Thanks for being out guest!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
Address: 92 Rowe Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-6701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Staunton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#4 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Staunton Hotel Staunton
Staunton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing