We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, great stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We really enjoyed our visit to the Inn at Old Virginia. We stayed in the "Barn" building, which is newly-built and we thought very nice. We enjoyed the common area with its fireplace and comfortable furnishings. Our room was a tad small, but very nice, and had a nice/clean bathroom. it was too cold to enjoy the view from the porch, but those visiting in warmer weather likely would enjoy it. The Inn does host weddings/events and when we stayed we weren't able to hang out in the nice atrium due to an event. But we enjoyed a nice breakfast there in the morning. all around, we'd recommend this inn to others traveling to Staunton.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelRayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
155
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

The inn was charming and immaculate, and located in a charming setting. The barn renovation was beautiful and well appointed. The innkeeper and owner were very helpful and pleasant. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whistle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent a very wonderful night there. I planned this trip before as a surprise to my wife for her birthday, our anniversary. I tried to contact with the owner Eve about how she can help me to make it, and Eve was very nice and kind to help me for preparing the birthday cake and roses. As I requested, her staff Deana, also a very nice lady, brought the surprising cake after we got back to our room after dinner, which really surprised my wife. The next morning, the roses showed up during the best breakfast I've had in B&B inn, which became another surprise to my wife. They made my plan perfectly accomplished.
As the Inn at Old Virginia itself, the location is perfect, easy to find, 5 mins to downtown Staunton. It also has amazing view from the sunny dinning room. All the decorations are the style I like,every corner could be a beautiful picture. In the library you can pick your favorite movie from tons of DVDs and play in your room. Everything there just really makes you feel at home. Some packages may even include $50 gift card you can spend for dinner or shopping in downtown, as well as a bottle of wine and some yummy bread, isn't that amazing...
I'm very thankful for Eve and Deana's kindness and love they extended to people,they are not just running a business. I love the home feeling like we were staying at a friend's house instead of a room I rent in hotel or inn.
I will definitely go back to stay for weekend,escape,or vacation... will strongly recommend to my friends... because it is a cozy warm home!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonUVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We felt at home as soon as we arrived. Our room in the main house was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was served in a large sunroom at tables for 2 or for 4, which we loved. I do not enjoy having to make conversation with strangers at breakfast. The owner and the staff members were all helpful, informative and gracious.
This B&B is several miles from downtown Staunton, but we felt it was worth the drive.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosesniffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I cannot wait to return to the Inn at Old Virginia. The house is lovely and the rooms are beautifully decorated without being fussy. The bed in our room in the main house was a sleep number, so we could adjust the firmness. The house is spotless, as are the rooms and baths.
Breakfast is served in a glass conservatory overlooking pastures. We had quiche, homemade muffins, fruit, yogurt and great coffee.
Eve, the owner, was beyond helpful in making sure we knew our way around the town and surroundings and that we enjoyed our dinner out.
Staunton has attractions for everyone, from nearby hiking or farm visits to restaurants using local ingredients and the Shakespeare theater.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theatermomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for five nights at the Inn at Old Virginia and we loved it. The guest rooms were each decorated in beautiful fabrics and antique furnishings. I loved our room so much I want to decorate my bedroom at home like it. The Innkeeper, Eve, is such a lovely, down-to-earth person and made us feel at home and welcome immediately. She is also a wealth of knowledge about the area and recommended some great restaurants in Staunton. Getta, the cook made us mouth-watering breakfasts every morning. The Inn at Old Virginia is a must if you are in the Staunton area.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We heartily recommend a stay at this inn, which we considered a serendipitous highlight of our one-week vacation.

We had chosen Staunton as a promising stopover convenient to I-81, but our expectations were far exceeded. Upon our Sunday early evening check-in, Eve, the innkeeper, very graciously showed us around and explained every point that might enhance our stay. We casually mentioned that we had an interest in the American Shakespeare Center but were under the impression that there were no performances on Sunday evenings. Eve said she thougt there might actually be an exception this week, and a performance that evening. She immediately checked the schedule, and told us there was a Sunday night performance of "Othello." She presented us with a map and marked it for us with the locations of the theater, a convenient and good restaurant, and easy driving directions from the inn. Eve's efficiency and eagerness to accommodate our desires were impressive and much appreciated.

We headed out, and husband and I went directly to the restaurant and ordered for the three of us, while our daughter walked the couple of blocks from the restaurant to the theater and got us rush tickets for the performance. We enjoyed a lovely dinner and a truly special performance that night, and also enjoyed walking through the charming town. It was a great evening, thanks to Eve's intervention.

The next morning we explored the Museum of American Frontier Culture before resuming our road trip.

Meanwhile, we had an absolutely lovely overnight at the inn, in a charming, spacious, and very comfortable room in the main house. A delicious gourmet breakfast, very graciously served, enhanced the next morning.

Should we pass that way again, we would absolutely return to the Inn at Old Virginia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olde Staunton Inn
Olde Staunton Inn
#6 of 12 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Property: Inn at Old Virginia
Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing