We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been here three times. . .we'll be back. Great atmosphere. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

When we see a show at the Shakespeare theater, we book this place. . .

The grounds are spectacular. Great location just off the highway. . .Staunton is just a few minutes away. . .

Rooms are comfy. . .the food is always good. . .the people are really nice. We will certainly be back. Two small dings - the walls in the 'barn' building are quite thin and you can hear much of what goes on. When someone watches tv in the main space you can certainly hear it in the other rooms. The second ding is the tvs are not flatscreen - this place isn't cheap and 19' analog tvs are just a little passe. . .

Still, this place scores real solid points for being original, friendly, and convenient. . .we can't wait to come back.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank rudedog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

What a phenomenal B&B. Excellent food (from a self-proclaimed foodie) beautiful rooms, ambiance, and very clean (coming from someone who demands a spotless hotel room). I already can't wait to go back. Eve and Deana know how to make their guests feel at home. They were also very accommodating when I let them know I followed a gluten free diet, substituting cheesy eggs for french toast. You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We decided to stay here at the recommendation of some great friends and we are SOOOO glad we did! Eve, the owner, was extremely hospitable and made us feel so welcomed. The breakfasts served were delicious and beautifully presented on fine bone china along with sterling silverware. It is a very peaceful location. We stayed in the barn in the Thomas Harman II room and had a lovely view out back of the rolling hills. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShayBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Our second visit to the Inn was just as good if not better than the first. The Lady Eve, the innkeeper, couldn't be more thoughtful. The Inn and grounds are immaculate and exude charm and taste. Every creature comfort is anticipated. We have a cat, and Arthur couldn't be more welcome in the lovely two pet-friendly rooms. (Of course he is VERY well-behaved...) Staunton is a lovely town, and the Inn is perfect as it is close to the town's many fine restaurants and world-class Wilson Museum...yet you feel that you're in the middle of the beautiful countryside. Worth a weekend or a stopover. It's a lovely, tranquil experience however long you stay!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely. The hot tub in the room on the back ground floor is most relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLambArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We recently stayed for an evening at Inn at Old Virginia. What a wonderful location! So quiet and beautiful. We sat on the patio outside, listening to the cows and watching a family of deer playing in the field right next door. Our room was spacious and quite lovely. I was so happy to discover our bed was a Sleep Number bed! That made for a very restful nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. We come through Virginia once or twice a year. I will be sure to reserve a room at Old Virginia next time we are Beach Bound! Thanks Eve! M&E M

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjbchlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We booked what I thought was going to be a small room in the main house to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were delightfully surprised to be shown into a spacious, well appointed room overlooking the expansive front lawns. The room is utterly comfortable and feels more like a good friend's home furnished with lovely English antiques. All was spotless. The bathroom is large and equipped with fluffy white towels. Nice soap, shampoo and conditioner are provided from a dispenser attached to the back wall of the combination tub and shower.

We very much enjoyed sitting on the comfortable couches in the book-lined library reading our books. Eve, the owner, has provided a large selection of DVD's to be watched on the DVD player located in the bedroom. The window-lined conservatory is a treat, and affords an almost 360 view of the surrounding countryside, with the Blue Ridge Mountains framing the background. We not only enjoyed eating our delicious breakfasts there in the morning, but also sat there in the afternoons, enjoying the peace and quiet of the Inn's grounds.

Better even than the beauty and comfort of the Inn was the graciousness of our hostesses, Eve and Deana. Every question asked regarding the sights was fully and thoughtfully answered. Printouts from the computer were given to us along with additional directions and information. It seemed as if they couldn't do enough to insure that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very lovely area of Virginia. If they had had availability for another night, we would have stayed! As hard as it was to leave, we took solace in the knowledge that we will return.l

Room Tip: We loved our room in the house. There are only 2, and they are both special. ( Didn't see the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We read all the great reviews and decided to stay one night on our way from NY to GA.
The room was spacious with a charming en suite bathroom; it felt like home after a long, hot
7 hour drive. Eve showed us around the beautiful home and grounds. After dinner at
Mill Street Grill we saw Merchant of Venice at the Shakespeare Theatre and experienced
a severe storm on the drive back to inn. Okay, so the power was knocked out all over but
there was a flashlight in our room and we were so tired anyway we quickly fell asleep on
the comfy bed. Power was restored during night and we had a delicious breakfast in the conservatory. We highly recommend this beautiful inn and thank tripadvisor!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryGinQueensNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
882 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#7 of 15 in Staunton
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: £122 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing