We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Old Virginia
Ranked #1 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Inn at Old Virginia for a weekend getaway from DC. It was wonderful, truly the best B&B! The breakfast is served in a beautiful atrium with nearly 360 degree views of the country side and the food is absolutely delicious!!! The staff is very friendly, definitely makes you feel welcome and comfortable. They anticipate your needs--there were wine glasses and an opener for our stay in wine country, the TV is hidden if you want it to be but available with DVDs if you want to cuddle up and have a night inside.

We stayed in the room Asher Harmon in the barn downstairs. This room is huge! It has a fireplace and a jacuzzi hot tub in the bathroom. The bed is a sleep number bed, which is not our favorite but has it's usefulness for a B&B. All the rooms in the barn overlook a large hilly pasture out back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AsaOxner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have stayed in quite a few B and Bs in Staunton for Staunton Jams and other activities, and the IAOV is the best. The only place that beat it was the Miller House and it closed. The location is beautiful in the countryside, but it also means no walking to downtown. We stayed in the back units, which are nice, comfortable, and with great views of the rolling hills and roaming cattle. The breakfast was first rate. Coming back to the room late can mean parking on the grass.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bloatedpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Every autumn, my husband and I stay a night at the Inn at Old Virginia in Staunton. This time, we stayed in one of the "barn" rooms as opposed to the rooms located in the main house. Check-in is always quick and the staff is very friendly. Our room was super cozy and spotless. The sleep number beds are always a pleasure that add that special touch to your sleep quality. The view from our room was beautiful and we spent a very comfortable and restful night there. Breakfast consisted of quiche (you get to pick what kind you'd like), hash brown potato casserole, yogurt, bacon, and a pumpkin muffin. We always enjoy our stay and will return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We decided to stay at The Inn At Old Virginia based on all the positive Trip Advisor reviews. We have to say that the reviewers were correct, the inn is an excellent choice. It's located minutes from I-81. It's just a few minutes from downtown Staunton, but it feels like a world away. The view from our room was a hillside with meandering cows - lovely.

We were thinking of going into Gypsy Hill Park for a walk after we got settled. Deanna, who greeted us and showed us our room, told us about Bell's Lane, a nearby country road which is used by the locals for walking. We tried it and recommend it. It's a quiet rural lane with fields and cattle along the way. There isn't much traffic so it's very safe.

I spoke with Eve when I made the reservation. I noticed on the website that they would accommodate special diets for breakfast if they knew in advance. I gave Eve our 'special needs', and every breakfast took them into account. The setting for breakfast is a sunny window lined room with views of the countryside. A great place to start the day. It was also a good time to talk with Eve or Deanna if we had questions about the area.

The rooms are spotless. This is a major factor for me in choosing a place to stay. Our room had a sleep number bed. We've never used one of those before and needed instructions. It turned out to be quite comfortable. The beds are triple sheeted and I was told the comforters are washed between guests (another big plus). If you are a late sleeper and are disturbed by noise from other rooms in the morning, I suggest you take a room on the top floor. I prefer soft pillows and there was only one of those in the room. When I asked for more, Eve found another for me. The only possible recommendation I can make is to have robes in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EllicottCityTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a lovely B&B! We stayed in the main house for $145 and had a large room with a sofa and a desk nook, not like some really cramped B&B rooms...bathroom was nice and large with awesomely strong water pressure! The innkeepers were so nice and the breakfast area was gorgeous. My only advice would be to request a healthy breakfast as the biscuits and gravy with salty Virginia ham were a bit much! Becky said they had gotten a new chef who was doing richer meals, but i'm sure you could request something lighter. Highly recommend Zyndoa in town for dinner if you go to Staunton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I would highly recommend the Inn at Old Virginia, which is an excellent B&B in a peaceful setting a few miles outside Staunton, . We stayed for two nights in a very spacious room in the barn. It was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed, high quality bed linens, sitting area and a gas fire. Breakfasts were delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A wonderful Bed and Breakfast very close to, but not in, the heart of Staunton, VA. The hosts were friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable and charming, the breakfast was delicious, and the atmosphere was relaxed and homey. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry_D_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
2.9 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
900 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Olde Staunton Inn
Olde Staunton Inn
#6 of 12 in Staunton
76 reviews
11.5 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Old Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Old Virginia

Address: 1329 Commerce Rd, Staunton, VA 24401-9030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range: £104 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Old Virginia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upon arriving at the Inn, our guests are immediately greeted with a calming atmosphere that promises relaxation and evokes the comfort of being at home. Each morning you will be greeted with the heavenly smell of a homemade breakfast served in our quaint English style Shenandoah Valley bed and breakfast conservatory. Throughout the day we invite you to sit by the fireplace in our main living room or to enjoy the breathtaking views of the valley from one of our many outdoor patios. If you are looking for more adventure, we can help you plan activities throughout Staunton, Virginia and the Shenandoah Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Old Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing