We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Quiet, Well Maintained Inn”
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Quiet, Well Maintained Inn”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Is it a B&B, a hotel or an inn? It depends on what you're after, I guess. The sign outside says "a small hotel," and that's about right.

We spent one summer evening there, and found it to be very nice.

We stayed in Patrick House, one block up from the main house and registration. There is ample parking. Security is good, and it's easy to get in and out of the parking lot and the houses.

We stayed in Room 35, on the second floor, in a nice suite with an old sunroom as the bedroom, with a small sitting room and private bath. It was very spacious and sunny. But man, do those old house floorboards creak, every single step. I had to wonder if the folks in the room below were hearing our every step--hint: ask for a room above so you don't have creaky floors above you.

It was very clean, and this is something I always notice. Spotless throughout, corners, ceiling corners, under tables, window sills, the whole bit. Major kudos on the cleanliness.

Check-in was quick and easy, with the owner and wife very friendly, ready with maps to show us how to get to our house and room, and hot spots in town to see.

The amenities in the room are plastic cups, with no ice or bucket in the house itself--you have to got to the main building. And, it's not an ice bucket but essentially a plastic paint can. So, the ice doesn't last that long. If you want a real glass, like for wine or champagne, you get one at the main house, too. There are two matching robes, and ample bathroom amenities and towels.

The room has its own thermostat, which is nice. There is a door deadbolt for security. The ceilings are 12', with sprinklers. The room has a fireplace, but it doesn't work. All the doors are framed and have matching cornice work--nice. There is a small color TV with ample cable, but it's an old tube-style TV, not a new flat screen. But then again, you don't come here to sit and watch TV, right?

The bed was huge and soft, with very nice linens. At night it was very quiet, but as I figured, that sunny and airy former sunroom also lit up with the sunrise, so there was not a lot of sleeping in.

In the morning breakfast is in the main house. The wife had the yogurt with fruit, which she liked, and I had their excellent strata. It was fast and hot, and the staff very friendly.

Bottom line: this was a first visit to Staunton, and this stay stamped it as a very solid positive. This is a very nice little hotel, and we will not hesitate to stay again, and to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Creaky floors--ask for a 2nd-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    50
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
36
147
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We traveled to the small town of Staunton Virginia mainly to visit the American Shakespeare Centerl and enjoy some first rate theater. I found this inn on the web and booked it partly based on its status as a Select Registry Inn. We stay in several such inns regularly and have come to trust that organization for selecting excellent inns for inclusion. Frederick House did not disappoint. It is actually a collection of beautiful old houses along New Street, and we stayed in the one called Patrick House. We occupied a delightful suite of two large rooms that were a bargain compared with other inns with its status. Breakfast is served in the house actually designated as Frederick House. The food was very good and plentiful, but it might get a little boring after a stay of the length we had-- three nights. The menu is printed on the coffee mugs, suggesting it doesn't change very often. The only reason I didn't give this inn the top rating is that the owners need to do a few finishing touches to bring it up to top drawer. For example, the glasses supplied in our suite were the flimsy plastic things you see in cheap motels. The shower curtain is about the cheapest plastic I've ever seen. It should be replaced with a substantial one, and it should be hung on a curved rod so it doesn't stick to you while you're taking a shower. Little things like this make this otherwise superb inn just miss. The good news is they're easily fixed. We'll be there again in a few months, and I'll update this review if the owners have seen to these details. The owners, by the way, are very friendly and helpful, as expected with inn keepers of a Select Registry inn.

Room Tip: The only room we've tried in a suite in Patrick House. Aside from the little details mentioned a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We appreciate comments and suggestions from our guests and review them carefully to determine if there are changes we can make to improve the experience of visitors to Frederick House. We attempt to have good reasons for the decisions we make. We chose these shower curtains because they contributed to our desire to improve the environment. Each is these shower curtains is made from 60 recycled plastic water bottles. We will try a curved shower curtain and hope it will make these curtains more useful. We furnish wrapped drinking cups in our guest rooms. We have drinking glasses for guests who request them. Our cocktail or wine glasses are returned to our kitchen each day by our staff. This way we know the glasses in our rooms have been washed properly before they are used again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This year our annual "mother/daughter" trip was to Staunton, VA. After researching a number of accommodation choices, my mom decided the Fredrick House would be the best option for us. Our experience lived up to our expectation. The room was spacious, well restored, and beautifully decorated. Joe and Evy were very personable. They took care of our tickets for both the backstage tour of the playhouse as well as the play. They were very helpful in making suggestions of things to see and do that would suit our preferences for enjoyable activities and inquired each morning as to how we were and how our trip was going. It was like being with family and we highly recommend this delightful hotel and its owners to others.

Room Tip: Check out the descriptions and photos of individual rooms on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayetteville, nc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The "SelectRegistry" calls the Frederick House..."a small, full service, historic,hotel...".
To me, it is seven tenement buildings where the rooms were semi renovated and painted. If you want ice...you get dressed...walk a city block to the main building and hope someone is there to give you ice. If you want coffee.....yea....same thing.
It is clean, but do NOT think B&B atmosphere for this facility. If you have kids in the college across the street, it would be handy. If you were going out for a romantic weekend in a B&B.... run away!!
When asked for recommendations for restuarants, one restuarant received tons of cudos. I found out....reading the SelectRegistry.....the place is part of the hotel system. A little jaded recommendation if you ask me.
Bottom line, we will never go back again....unless we want to pay premium B&B prices for a small hotel room with NO amenities what so ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
During the 30 years we have been in business we have been called a B & B, an Inn, and a Hotel. We read the definition of tenement buildings and are not able to see the connection. None of our buildings has been used as a "tenement" building. Previous uses have been as residences, offices for doctors and attorneys, college classrooms or dormitories, for showing motion pictures, retail office supplies, a beauty parlor, or an automobile showroom. Our efforts at renovation have been more than 'minimum and paint'. We have won two awards for preservation from Historic Staunton Foundation. Breakfast is served in only one of our houses, the same location where coffee and ice are available. At reception all guests are told to use the room phone to call if they need anything or if they have a problem with the room. Each guest is given a map of downtown that includes many restaurants. Brochures and menus from local restaurants are on display at reception. Suggestions about restaurants are based on what we learn from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Everyone very friendly recommending activities during my off time. My room was small, but it was just me so it was a really nice size. Enjoyed breakfast. Easy to walk to everything.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My husband and I started our honeymoon at the Frederick House. We couldn't have been happier. Joe is one of a kind! He purchased our playhouse tickets, recommended a wonderful Italian restaurant for dinner, and took the time to draw us a map for our days adventures. Directions a GPS just can't provide. And the room was beautiful. We can't wait to get back. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We try to meet the needs of our guests in many ways including, purchasing theater tickets, making dinner suggestions and dinner reservations and informing our guests where they can obtain delicious chocolate and ice cream. We know Staunton and the Shenandoah Valley and share our knowledge with our guests. We are pleased that these guests enjoyed their visit to Staunton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have stayed at the Frederick House several times while our son was in graduate school at Mary Baldwin College. We were most recently there for graduation weekend, May 17-19, 2013. The rooms are very clean, wonderfully furnished and sooo comfortable. The bath towels are the softest I have ever had. We book a suite and it's like having our own little apartment - a home away from home. The breakfasts are delicious! The owners are very welcoming and helpful. The location is great - in the heart of historic Staunton - within walking distance to good restaurants, churches, quaint shops, and the Blackfriars Theater.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.6 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
354 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Property: Frederick House
Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing