We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We traveled to Staunton to attend several performances at the American Shakespeare Center. The inn is within walking distance of the center. Our situation when we arrived at the inn required several modifications to our reservation. Frederick House not only recalled an employee who had left for the day to clean a room that met our needs, but made us feel like family by waiting until after the performance to make certain that we were properly shown to our room. A superb experience with a human touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    48
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

First time staying here, was great. Nice, clean, friendly. Downtown historic Staunton, so it was within walking distance of many things to see. The apple raisin pie for breakfast was freakin' awesome! The keepers were accomadating, helpful in telling us about the area, and offered discounts to certain attractions. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Personally, when i stay at a B and B, I prefer a private bathroom. Our room had that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

A unique Inn in Staunton,VA with a central lovation in historical town. I would definitely stay in.Frederick House again
Fine homemade breakfast with the menu imprinted on coffee mugs. Great idea.I walked to Woodrow Wilson Birthplace
and Mary Baldwin College and a unique synagogue in 10inites from.Inn
The town is hilly so be prepared for some effort when walking.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ydna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our kids got us a weekend in Staunton for our anniversary. It included a couple of nights at the Frederick House and a show and tour of the Blackfriars Playhouse at the American Shakespeare Center. The entire weekend was wonderful.
This is not our first stay at the Frederick House and definately won't be our last. This time we stayed in Patrick-27, which I believe is one of the largest rooms they offer. It has a canopy bed and a separate living room. There is a set of doors that can close off the living room and each room has its own entrance from the hall. The room is very large, but it is nice to have a sofa to sit and relax on. Each room has its own television. The living room has a writing desk and a decorative fireplace and there is a small dining table in the bedroom.
When we arrived, there was a beautiful flower arrangement, a bottle of wine on ice and chocolate covered strawberries that were part of the package our kids got us. Very nice.
From our first visit to the Frederick House, we knew that they didn't have a coffee maker in the rooms (which I truly wish they did), so we travel with our own single serving Keurig. The owners do offer coffee and ice in the office, but due to the layout of and the fact that each house is independent, that means that you have to go outside and walk to the office, which may or may not be your "cup of tea".
We love the breakfast, and although we do not have an issue with Gluten, some folks sitting by us did and the owners were very accomodating and gave them what appeared to be a very delicious gluten-free breakfast.
We're looking forward to our next visit to Staunton and our next stay and the Frederick House!

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, make sure that you call and talk to the owners and let them know so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My sisters and I spent three nights at the Frederick House. We had a large suite with two bedrooms and a living room. It was beautiful. The breakfasts were delicious. Everything was great. My only ding is the bar of shampoo. The owners are trying to go green. One of the ways they are doing it is using a bar of shampoo instead of plastic bottles. Unfortunately the shampoo didn't clean hair very well. Very small ding. Bring your own shampoo and everything will be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a series of old homes in the historic section of Staunton. Comfortable old fashioned rooms with plenty of toiletries, towels, reading chairs and lights and a comfortable bed. TV in room. Staunton is built on hills, so unless you are in the main house, you are going to have to walk up steep hills for at least 2 of the homes, and then carry your luggage up steep stairs and also go to and fro to the main house for breakfast. The other homes are closer to the main home, so if this is an issue, ask for one of the closer homes. Joe and Evy really know the town and cant do enough to help you enjoy Staunton, which is charming. They will get you tickets for the Blackfriars Playhouse, which is a don't miss and please dont be daunted by Shakespeare because the cast makes it very accessible. Woodrow Wilson's home is also a dont miss. Evy's breakfasts are terrific and she even went out of her way to get my husband some Virginia ham, which we had been unable to find till then. Restaurants in town were quite good to excellent. A great stop over.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotrav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is really a great place to stay. Our room was large, clean and charming. This place has all the modern conveniences, but with nuances that were a very pleasant surprise. Also, breakfast was different and delicious. The owners were very helpful and when a serious problem arose, they helped a lot in getting it resolved so we could continue our trip. My brother, who lives in Northern Virginia recommended this hotel for the town, the hotel, and the Shakespearean Theater. We did not get to the theater, but the stopover was great. If you come this way, the Frederick House will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Property: Frederick House
Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing