We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a delightful experience in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a delightful experience in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Staunton itself is a charming town, and the house we stayed in opposite Mary Baldwin is an integral part of its illustrious history. Despite our late arrival, we were made welcome and our suite was amazing.. so spacious and comfortable. A true antidote to all those corporate motels...

The best breakfast ever ... and most helpful advice on the rest of our trip across the mountains. We heartily recommend. ps love the shakespeare connection too..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janekgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    48
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Frederick House provided the perfect location for our weekend in Staunton. We discovered Select Registry distinguished inns of North America almost a decade ago and rarely stay at a property not listed with them. We have multiple stays and visits with their properties and you definitely get what you pay for: extremely friendly inn keepers and/or owners, wonderful breakfasts and super clean and comfortable rooms.

The owners are doing something right if they have been there for 30 years. Highly recommend stay at the Frederick House during a visit to the Staunton area. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patrick House, Room 27, which is a One Bedroom Suite. Including a large bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrooster89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our trip through Virginia brought us to Staunton over a wet weekend in October. We were at Frederick House for two nights and stayed in Cochran House. Our stay didn't get off to the best of starts. The room(s) we had booked comprised two bedrooms - it was the only one left at time of booking - and we were asked/told to pick one bedroom and stay in it so that they didn't have to worry about cleaning and washing the other room - charming! Our room was fine, it was large and clean and had a very large selection of books, in fact both bedrooms did. It was dated but I guess that was the point. Bathroom was adequate and did the job though it took a while for the hot water to run through. Breakfast was good though a little odd in that we had to leave our building, cross the road, walk down the hill and through the public car park to get there, made worse by the fact that it was raining which meant wearing a coat though we had been warned of this by previous reviews. Evy was lovely, a very warm and friendly host, it would have been good to chat to her a little more but she was always so busy making sure everything and everybody was okay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittlePPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is a connection of close houses/flats. We had a $140 dollar room that could sleep 4 but we were just 2. We arrived without booking and were delighted they were free as Booking.com had said they were full! - Always use their own website to book. It is right in the centre of town so walking to the Shakespeare is a mere step and the Owners booked a table for us in a very close restaurant that was not a fast food chain! - and it served wine! The near main shopping street (100 yards) is great for a walk and then a bar for G and T before dinner. Beds were so comfortable and we even managed most of the US style table lamps! Breakfast excellent - try the strata - tea not good as waitress served luke warm water in a cup (scald tea please!) but they had good coffee. We (two aged 65 from UK) were touring Virginia and Maryland and the Carolinas and this was the best guest house. One in Winston-Salem came close!
Owners very, very helpful in many ways from bookings to directions to information.
We shall be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite at the Cochran House, one of the 3 guest houses. It was a wonderful stay. Clean rooms, big spaces, and touches of charm everywhere. It's not the Ritz, but that's the point. It's an old house cared for with love. The proprietors, Joe and Evy, were the nicest folks and put love into this place. It's also great to see The Frederick House as major sponsors of the arts around town.

Would stay again, for sure!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mateo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent one night in the Frederick House on our way home after visiting several other towns in Virginia. We chose the Inn based on its inclusion in the Select Registry guide. We were very disappointed. The Frederick House did not live up to the quality and service we've come to expect from places in that guide. On a positive note, the room was clean and the breakfast was fine. But the inn looked more like an outdated Holiday Inn than a B&B. It had no charm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tobifay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We traveled to Staunton to attend several performances at the American Shakespeare Center. The inn is within walking distance of the center. Our situation when we arrived at the inn required several modifications to our reservation. Frederick House not only recalled an employee who had left for the day to clean a room that met our needs, but made us feel like family by waiting until after the performance to make certain that we were properly shown to our room. A superb experience with a human touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Property: Frederick House
Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing