We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pickers paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pickers paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights here in the McClure house (room 2) which was just one of 2 apartments basically in the building, so LOTS of room & privacy for a B&B. We were traveling with another couple who stayed in a separate building across from us, but next time intend on renting both rooms in this house to have all to ourselves! Great space for families traveling together too who want privacy but want to be close to each other.

Joe & Evy were both great! Joe was a big help with our parking situation because we were driving a large truck with a large enclosed trailer behind it and finding 3 spaces to fit in would have been impossible without his guidance. Evy immediately jumped in suggesting Aoili for dinner & even promptly calling to make us a reservation. We were sleeping above the "best restaurant in town" she said - & she was right! Other than Split Bananas it was our favorite. She even went as far as helping us tote luggage to our rooms upon a late arrival. They are just good people and all the staff we met were too.

This was a great "home base" for all the antiquing we did. We will definitely be back for our next picking trip with trailer in tow!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmieWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    48
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just returned home today from a weekend getaway at the Frederick House. This was our first stay at this particular small hotel. We have stayed at numerous luxury small hotels and bed and breakfast inns from New England to South Carolina and this one certainly ranks up there with some of our very favorites. Joe and Evy Harman welcomed us with great enthusiasm the moment we walked through the door. Evy is a wealth of information about the area and directed us to some marvelous restaurants within walking distance. Our fabulous room (#35) was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We LOVED all the windows that gave the room such an airy, bright clean feeling. It was very roomy and we loved the old plantation feel. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Everything made from scratch. Highly recommend the apple & raisin quiche! The service was excellent, food was hot and the portions were perfect. We can't say enough good things about our experience at the Frederick House and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We loved our room #35 in the Patrick House; very spacious, comfortable bed, clean, nice bathroom wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for commenting so kindly about your visit to Frederick House. Our goal is to give our guests a clean, comfortable, quiet place to stay and a good breakfast when they visit Staunton and the Shenandoah Valley. Our knowledge of the area that we share with our guests helps them be aware of the opportunities within walking distance of Frederick House for dining, shopping, entertainment, and learning about history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Went to Staunton on a whim, and ended up on the decision to try out Frederick House. We had a great time talking with the knowledgable and interesting owners, who were very accommodating, and also exploring the lovely town. Our room was clean, perfectly spacious for two and charming without overdoing it. Great location for walking around and enjoying all that this fun little city has to offer. Looking forward to going back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shuslig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I took my wife here for our 13th wedding anniversary, and had a perfect time. The owners are wonderful, helpful, and kind. And it is right in the heart of Staunton's lively downtown.

They have a relationship with Blackfriars (the amazing Shakespeare center), and arranged a tour and two shows (with the best seats in the house).

The rooms are absolutely beautiful. Our room had super high ceilings, beautiful woodwork and furniture, et cetera. It's very professionally run, and you have your privacy, but you also don't feel like you're staying at an impersonal hotel.

Amazing four-poster king size bed, not creaky at all. And very nice bathrooms, and gorgeous large windows.

I love this place. Cannot thank the owners enough for taking such good care of us. Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_and_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The owners are friendly and caring, and the hot breakfast was delicious.

Staunton is an adorable small town with a charming and lively downtown area. The Frederick House is actually a few buildings converted into lovely hotel rooms. Our room had a very comfortable king-sized sleigh bed and a large "living room" area, a nice bathroom and a large dressing area with a sink and mirror outside the bathroom. In the building where we stayed, each floor held one large room, so it was very private.

One of the recent reviewers mentioned a creaky bed; owners Joe and Evy mentioned this, said they'd fixed the bed and asked if it made any noise (it did not). Nice to know they read and respond to reviews posted here and comments made by their guests.

We had a great dinner at the Taste of India just around the corner. There are plenty of nice restaurants in the downtown area and we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBGBoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We appreciate this review because it shows how reviews help us make improvements and help our guests make decisions about where to stay. We learn from reading reviews by our guests. Another guest who stayed in the same room recently said: "This is the first time I have stayed in a B and B. I will do it again." We like to remind our guests: Any time you are staying in a place like Frederick House be certain to let the owner or inn keeper know about any problems you have while you are there. This gives them an opportunity to correct the problem. We had a guest who drove 1000 miles down the road before he commented our coffee was weak. We can make the coffee as strong as anyone would want it. Let us know while you are here. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a great experience at this charming B&B right after Christmas. Our room was in an old house that has been lovingly turned into individual rooms with bathrooms. The bed was a little creaky, but the whole place was so quiet it didn't matter. The bathroom was clean. No tub, just a shower stall, so water was all over the hardwood floor, but w put a towel down and it was fine. The owners are so friendly and nice. I would stay here again in a minute. Plus the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeHarman, Owner at Frederick House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank your comments about your stay at Frederick House. We appreciate your compliments and take note of areas that may need improvement. We will monitor the creaking bed and water on the floor from the shower to determine if we can make improvements in these areas. We appreciate suggestion from our guests that can help us improve the experience of our guests. We hope you will return again and go to Blackfriars Playhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have stayed at Frederick House three times now. Each time in a different room. For us, the consistency of a warm smile and support from Evy and Joe make a big difference. In addition, the rooms are comfortable and in historic buildings. We like the uniqueness of each space. We also like that Frederick House accommodations are in the center of historic Staunton and everything is in walking distance: Shakespeare or a movie, to several wine tastings, great food in town, and some history to explore. The breakfast is always delicious, filling, and we get a kick out of how they shape the fruit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_from_Dundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berkeley House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Property: Frederick House
Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing