We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel of an Inn in Staunton!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frederick House
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel of an Inn in Staunton!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have lodged in the Frederick House several times within the past 3 years and have always found Joe and Evy to be willing to help with theater tix (Blackfriars), directions and advice in their wealth of information about Staunton and its history - they have been "movers and shakers" in the recent civic history of Staunton. They host and coordinate a beautifully run and beautifully-appointed B&B Complex in in the heart of town complete with as many say, a tremendous and scrumptious breakfast. Also a wonderful place to stay for musicians as the Staunton Music Festival convenes in August.
Gwen and Don Frazier - Manassas, VA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    48
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
144
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We had spent tonight to the B&B in Appomattox and wanted to spend one more night in Staunton. When we were called the the hotel Joe was very friendly, and told us he had a room. As soon as we came, he asked if we wanted to go to the theater which we did, and he immediately booked us tickets. The room was extremely large and quiet, the play was great, and breakfast was very good too. Would definitely choose to come here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Service is unerringly friendly and prompt. Rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean. Breakfast alone is worth the stay. Any time I am anywhere near Staunton (usually to visit Liberty Univ.) I choose the Frederick House.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLW714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

If B&Bs can be judged by the owners, you won't find anyone any more accommodating that Mo and Joe at Frederick House in Staunton. Our room was spacious, with nice bathrooms and amenities. But what really impressed us was the civic-mindedness of this couple who have been active in this community and partially responsible for bringing Shakespeare plays to the town. Their skills at cooking, meeting and greeting, and sharing places to go all made the experience at this B&B one to remember.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rusha_sams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at Joe and Evy's Fredrick House last week. The room we had was large with a couch and chairs along with a beautiful bed. Joe impressed us as a historian; his background before purchasing the Inn was teaching. Anything a guest would want to know about the area just start up a conversation with Joe and you will uncover many places in the area you might have missed without his trip suggestions. The Woodrow Wilson library and museum is just a 10 minute walk away which we enjoyed. The breakfast at the Fredrick house was delicious. I would recommend this small hotel/Inn to everyone. It was a delight and we will go again gladly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathywelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had stayed there with my husband a few years ago, and this time was with college friends for our Mary Baldwin College reunion. Lovely rooms, quiet neighborhood, and excellent breakfasts. I hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: I would guess that it would be best to ask for a room on 2nd floor (no matter which building you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeacv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Frederick House is really a collection of buildings close to each other, sharing a common breakfast/common room. Joe and Edy were great hosts- very helpful about things to see and how to get there. Edy does the cooking and the breakfasts were great- the menus are on the sides of the coffee cups. Our room was big, with a sitting room next door. The rooms are quite varied; it would be worth some time perusing their website before choosing, especially if stairs are an issue. We had a very enjoyable 3 nights and will probably stay there again on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Staunton hotels
0.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn Staunton
2.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#4 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick House

Property: Frederick House
Address: 28 N New St, Staunton, VA 24401-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frederick House is a small hotel in downtown historic Staunton, across from Mary Baldwin College, convenient to restaurants, shops, galleries, and Blackfriars Playhouse where exciting performances of plays by William Shakespeare occur 52 weeks each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Frederick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick House Hotel Staunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing