We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Alpine Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeles Tavern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Hideaway
Virginia
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 March 2011

My husband and I celebrated out 29th wedding anniversary at the Sunset Cottage. We have been going to the Sunset Cottage for several years to celebrate our anniversary and we have never been disappointed. The attention to detail and just the shear beauty of the area makes this a wonderful most relaxing place to unwind and get out of the city. Thank you for making our visit special year after year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cw3martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
124
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We decided on the cottage (Pond View) to celebrate my 40th birthday. We arrived to a quiet serene location, and a birthday balloon - such a nice touch! At first we were worried becasue the gravel road seemed a bit close to the main road, but after the car went down the little hill and we saw the cabin, our fears were gone. Once inside, I was in heaven! All I could think of was how cute and cozy! We were there for 3 nights and when we left to go back home to our 3 kids, we were totally relaxed. There was a lot to do - winerys, shopping, etc - all within a 40 minute drive. Don't miss the Safari Drive-Thru!
Big Thanks to Eileen and Bill (owners) - you have shown us our yearly getaway paradise!
side note - the reason for the 4 stars and not 5 on the sleep quality - it was too quiet for us - we are used to kids, dogs, cat, etc - so it was a GOOD thing!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahzooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2011

WE were very impressed with the comfort, decor and cleanliness of our cabin. The owners were very helpful. And the breakfast delivered to our door was great. We would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

This place was like a hidden slice of heaven! By far more romantic and charming than any hotel stay my husband and I have ever had. If you are looking to get away from the world and relax for a while, this is the place! Beautiful views, hot tub outside and jacuzzi tub inside, wonderful fireplace and kitchen, large grill on porch. We stayed for 3 nights and just stocked up on groceries and made all our own food, they had a list of resturants in the area too though. I can hardly describe the charm this place had, down to the smallest detail. It was absolutely wonderful. We will definietly be staying there again and highly recommend it to others!

- Sylvia Landis

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slandis2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quantico, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I wanted to surprise my wife with a getaway that was solely focused on each other. We stayed in the Ivy Cottage and we could not asked for a better vacation. The pictures don't do it justice. We walked in to the cottage, the fire place was already prepared we just had to light it. 2 robes awaited our entry. We immediately silenced the cell phones and enjoyed ourselves. The cottage had satellite TV and a DVD player. We rented some movies before getting there and went grocery shopping before getting there too. We sat down, cuddled, and enjoyed each other. The 20 degree weather outside made enjoying the hot tub even better. I have encouraged friends to make the trip and we definitely look forward to going back. Total peace and quiet. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denveredick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

My husband and I had an amazing time during our stay in the Sunset Cottage! It was a great change of pace from our everyday Northern VA/DC lives! We enjoyed visiting Sunspot Studios and Rockbridge Vineyard on Friday, Star B Stables and downtown Lexington on Saturday, and on Sunday, we watched movies and went for a walk through the woods and had a quiet and relaxing day! We hope to return to Alpine Hideaway's great cottages in the future! We highly recommend this to all!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COPUSFAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We really enjoyed our stay....Alpine Hideway has all you need and more.
Bill and Eileen have thought of everything..done to the smallest detail, we
will be back and will countinue to share our thoughts with friends looking
for a great place to get away.
Kirk and Mark
Richmond, Va

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KIRK8523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steeles Tavern
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 16 in Lexington
181 reviews
14.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
16.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Raphine
135 reviews
10.4 mi away
Maple Hall Inn
Maple Hall Inn
#6 of 18 in Lexington
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hideaway

Property: Alpine Hideaway
Address: 8400 North Lee Hwy, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Region: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Steeles Tavern
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and romantic, secluded cabins located in the Blue Ridge Mountains Shenandoah Valley Virginia. Each cabin has king bed, private outdoor hot tub, indoor double jacuzzi tub /shower combo with rain shower head, gas fireplace in living room, flat screen TVs, full kitchens, gas grills on outside decks, WiFi, and plush robes. Two cabins, Ivy and Sunset, are located on the Blue Ridge overlooking the valley and views of gorgeous sunsets. The Pond View cottage nestles against the fishing pond and mountain pastures. Cabins are designed as couples cabins and therefore not suitable for children. Dogs are welcome in the Pond View cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing