We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Alpine Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeles Tavern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Hideaway
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary at the sunset cottage this past weekend. The cottage was immaculate, the cabin is secluded, and everything worked properly. I have ZERO complaints! We have agreed that this will be our new anniversary spot. THANK YOU Ray and Melissa!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Et517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
123
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We spent 5 nights at the pond view cottage for our 38th anniversary and it was wonderful. The perfect place for serenity and romance. The cottage was beautifully decorated and fully equipped. We enjoyed sitting on the private deck every morning having our coffee listening to the wild life. The view was amazing as we watched the fog on the pond and the cows grazing on the rolling hills. During the day we toured the area. My husband is a Civil War buff so we enjoyed the close proximity to the many towns and museums nearby. We drove along the Blue Ridge Pkwy, stopped at antique stores on Hwy 11 and did some wine tasting at the Rockbridge Winery which were all nearby. Every evening after a day of touring we did some fishing at the pond and ended the day in the hot tub or jacuzzi tub. The fireplace took the chill out of the fall air. We hated to leave but hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary in Sunset Cottage and it was such a relaxing, peaceful time. The cottage was clean, well kept, and so well furnished. The view was amazing. I strongly recommend this hideaway to others. PS...the hot tub was fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678staceyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2012

From the moment we hit the gravel driveway we knew this was the place to relax,escape and be totally alone together with nature. The inside of our cottage "pond view" was breathtaking. Perfect condition, beautiful decoration and extremely inviting. The jacuzzi and hot tub were wonderful. So much privacy that we skinny dipped in our hot tub every night! The view from our back deck was eutopia. Cattle grazing in the meadows night and day, birds singing and dancing in the trees , fish jumping in the pond, beavers swimming in the pond, a family of deer every evening grazing and even a sighting of a ground hog!
Cable tv, wireless internet and a landline phone still did not take away from the feeling of seclusion--our own little world.
I will definately tell anyone that will listen that this is the ultimate destination for an amazing romantic getaway or even a solo trip for downtime.
Thank you Melissa and Ray for providing a needed service for mankind---time to commune with nature and your love one!
Want to come back in the winter or early spring!!!! Would love to come back every season!!!!
Patty and Eric

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have just returned from a two day stay in the Sunset Cottage. It was heavenly. Great mountain view. Very quiet and secluded. The cottage is quite luxurious and very comfortable, especially for a cabin getaway; it comes stocked with lots of thoughtful amenities. We had everything we needed. Situated half way between Staunton and Lexington, there is plenty to do nearby. Or, if you just need to chill, this couldn't be a better choice. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Little did we know there existed such a delightful haven for our stressed out souls! The Pondview cottage - a well decorated and comfortably appointed space was welcoming and provided much needed relaxation with the ability to enjoy modern benefits of flatscreen tv, internet access, and a private hot tub, if desired. We happily ate the Godiva chocolates placed on the oversized (and cloud like) king bed -a detail that did not go unnoticed. Admittedly, there's something to be said for enjoying your morning coffee as you sit by a pond that overlooks a peaceful pasture while listening to nature. The reservation process was friendly and accommodating with detailed instructions and helpful hints. If the goal was to provide a cozy cabin with an upscale feel, then mission accomplished!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCEvans724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

absolutely, unbelievably, amazing. Everything I could have hoped for was exceeded by the welcoming hospitality of the professional staff. I will recommend this business to everyone i know

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steeles Tavern
14.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 16 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Raphine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Fox Hill Bed & Breakfast Suites
18.3 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hideaway

Property: Alpine Hideaway
Address: 8400 North Lee Hwy, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Region: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Steeles Tavern
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and romantic, secluded cabins located in the Blue Ridge Mountains Shenandoah Valley Virginia. Each cabin has king bed, private outdoor hot tub, indoor double jacuzzi tub /shower combo with rain shower head, gas fireplace in living room, flat screen TVs, full kitchens, gas grills on outside decks, WiFi, and plush robes. Two cabins, Ivy and Sunset, are located on the Blue Ridge overlooking the valley and views of gorgeous sunsets. The Pond View cottage nestles against the fishing pond and mountain pastures. Cabins are designed as couples cabins and therefore not suitable for children. Dogs are welcome in the Pond View cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing