We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Alpine Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeles Tavern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Hideaway
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was our third trip to one of the cabins and we thoroughly enjoyed it again. Although we had trouble getting our car to the top of the hill with the recent snow, Ray and Melissa were very helpful in getting us to and from our cabin. They are super nice and accommodating people. Next year we'll probably wait until spring :-) Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badboo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

2nd time staying at the Hideaway and we will be back again. This time we stayed at the Ivy Cottage and it was just awesome. The view was fantastic, as was the cozy cabin with the fireplace burning and the hot tub just steps away. Truly relaxing!!!

Room Tip: If you want to be near a pond or water in general, choose the Pond View Cottage. If you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rpc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had the most beautiful and romantic stay at the Pond View cottage! Everything was perfect, cozy & relaxing! The cottage was super clean & had all the amenities and more. Would truly recommend this cottage. There's even a guest diary and each one told of a lovely stay! Loved the hot tub with a view! So sad we had to leave black to the real world, but we're looking to return in the near future to visit other cottages! Than You Ray & Melissa for making our stay the best vacation ever! ♡♡♡♡♡ Don & Karen Degraw , Goshen, NY :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This place is just as amazing as advertised. The owners thought of everything! Fully stocked kitchen, plenty of towels, and the hot tub was already warm when we arrived! There is also a grill which we used to cook our dinner both nights of our stay, since city living doesn't let us have grills. The couch in the pond cottage was so comfortable, we didn't want to get up. The bathroom was nice and stocked with toiletries.

I will point out one con - there is an amazing jacuzzi bathtub, however both nights that we tried to use it the water could not stay hot enough to fill the tub. Not sure if the water heater just couldn't handle the volume of water, but the bath was only luke warm. Aside from that the shower is still great, and the hot tub outside!

Even though the pond view cottage is closest to the road, for our entire weekend we saw and heard NO ONE else, which was fantastic. We did hear and see cows, which was pretty charming. Will recommended to anyone looking for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavenNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Loved our visit to the Pond Cottage it was just what we needed to break up our trip between PA & NC.

Well appointed cottage with welcome amenities we very much appreciated! Even treats for our furSon. Braved the temps to hit the hot tub outside & watched the deer frisk around. Enjoyed the Jacuzzi inside as well!

Cozy Cottage was set off to itself in back of property overlooking the pond that make for lovely views & privacy.

Breakfast was DELICIOUS & we enjoyed our gracious hosts very much. Definitely trying the recipe shared.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank earthwalker1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We returned to Alphine Hideaway for our fourth visit..that says a lot!
The cottage is perfectly equipped for a couple to stay with everything you
could need. We love to stay here and are happy that Melissa and Ray have
countiued to make the cottage a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirk l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just wanted to post something to acknowledge how absolutely fantastic these cottages are! The attention to every detail makes it even more wonderful! Great romantic getaway for our anniversary this past week, and it was really tough to leave! Will post details later, but most importantly, book it now!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRktect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alpine Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hideaway

Address: 8400 North Lee Hwy, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Region: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Steeles Tavern
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and romantic, secluded cabins located in the Blue Ridge Mountains Shenandoah Valley Virginia. Each cabin has king bed, private outdoor hot tub, indoor double jacuzzi tub /shower combo with rain shower head, gas fireplace in living room, flat screen TVs, full kitchens, gas grills on outside decks, WiFi, and plush robes. Two cabins, Ivy and Sunset, are located on the Blue Ridge overlooking the valley and views of gorgeous sunsets. The Pond View cottage nestles against the fishing pond and mountain pastures. Cabins are designed as couples cabins and therefore not suitable for children. Dogs are welcome in the Pond View cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing