We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon retreat”
Review of Alpine Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeles Tavern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Hideaway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon retreat”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We choose to spend our honeymoon somewhere we could enjoy being newlyweds. The pond view cottage definitely delivered! We enjoyed the various packages offered. Our entire stay was relaxing. Ray and Melissa where great!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
124
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ray and Melissa are a class act. The Pondview cabin was ready for us, we let ourselves in, everything was perfect. The room was clean, the area is beautiful as we knew from our trip to the sister cabin (Ivy Cottage) and we even saw 2 deer on our first night there. Absolutely the best and quietest Anniversary vacation ever. We will be back!! Even our dog Mica loved it, she wouldn't stop sniffing :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our fifth stay at Alpine Hideaway. It had been seven years and an owner change since we had last stayed. We are happy to say that it is still as wonderful as ever for a getaway from everything. The cabins are appointed with everything you need for your stay. We enjoyed the hot tub on the deck that is very private. You can't see anyone from your deck. So peaceful and serene. We enjoyed the breakfast basket delivered to our door (yogurt, homemade granola and still warm giant muffin, fruit, juice and milk). We stayed at the cabin both days and enjoyed the quiet. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area but this time we just wanted seclusion and quiet. Perfect!

Room Tip: The Ivy Cottage is up on the hill and at the end of the lane so to me it seems the most secluded and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLSandi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My fiance and I just returned back from our honeymoon stay at the Alpine Hideaway's Sunset cabin. It was absolutely spectacular. Cabin was set back in the woods up the side of a mountain overlooking a valley and a beautiful mountain peak across. Cows lazily grazed in the fields below the cabin, and at night there was no light pollution at all, so the stars were breath-taking. The whirlpool jet tub in the bathroom was a dream to relax in with my new husband, as was the large hot tub on the back porch. The king size bed was very comfortable, the gas fireplace was amazing, and wifi/dish television were great accommodations. No one came to the cabin at all during our stay, which was wonderful (housekeeping is my least favorite part of a hotel). Our cabin was so secluded two families of deer came into our front yard and three fawns were hopping and playing together. There is not a single negative thing to say about the experience and I will recommend this to all of our couple-friends. My husband even looked to me on our drive home and said "This is the first time I've ever been sad that a vacation is over".

Room Tip: Sunset and Ivy are the most secluded, hidden up the mountain against the forest line. Pond view is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I chose Alpine out of convenience as it was half way home from a very long business trip. We fell in love with the online details and were even more impressed by Ray and Melissa's promptness and attention to detail in emails we received prior to arrival. Because I spend a majority of my time in hotels, the Ivy cabin was the perfect solution to get away from the world. We had an incredible weekend and with the exception of a quick trip to crabtree falls and some dinner on Saturday, we hid out in our little paradise. We liked it so much, we made some changes and sent my son and his new bride last weekend for their honeymoon! As I work between Pennsylvania and North Carolina, this will definitely be a return visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albuehrer318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was a perfect cabin for our three day get-a-way. Enjoyed everything about the cabin. We traveled to Lexington, Straunton and Harrisonburg during the day and watched the animals and listened to the birds in the evenings. The hot tub was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsumners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were in Raphine, Virginia for our son's wedding at Rockbridge Vineyards this weekend. What a special day and this was the perfect spot to rest after all the activities. it was quiet, serene, and the owners were gracious and accommodating. We will return again if ever visiting Raphine. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaritasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Steeles Tavern
10.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Lexington
181 reviews
14.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lexington
16.8 mi away
Best Western Staunton Inn
Best Western Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Raphine
135 reviews
10.4 mi away
Maple Hall Inn
Maple Hall Inn
#6 of 18 in Lexington
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Hideaway

Property: Alpine Hideaway
Address: 8400 North Lee Hwy, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Region: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Steeles Tavern
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and romantic, secluded cabins located in the Blue Ridge Mountains Shenandoah Valley Virginia. Each cabin has king bed, private outdoor hot tub, indoor double jacuzzi tub /shower combo with rain shower head, gas fireplace in living room, flat screen TVs, full kitchens, gas grills on outside decks, WiFi, and plush robes. Two cabins, Ivy and Sunset, are located on the Blue Ridge overlooking the valley and views of gorgeous sunsets. The Pond View cottage nestles against the fishing pond and mountain pastures. Cabins are designed as couples cabins and therefore not suitable for children. Dogs are welcome in the Pond View cottage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing