We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, charm and great service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Steeles Tavern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osceola Mill Restaurant, B&B and Cabins
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay with multi-channel state of the art TV and super-fast Wi-Fi, I’m sorry but tis is not it. But if you appreciate charm, character and good taste give it a try.

In reality the mill is even nicer than in the photographs on its website. It is easily reached after a short drive from I64 . Kevin is a very amenable host who makes sure that his guests have everything they need. The room was nicely furnished with desk, sofa, wardrobe and a very comfortable bathroom the style of furnishing is very much in keeping with the age of the mill (200 years or so). The en suite bathroom has bath with shower over.

Breakfast is cooked to order and (within reason) served at a time to suit the guest. There is also a restaurant where we ate a superb fine dining meal which, although not open to the public every night can always cater for guests provided they have booked in advance.

Although the mill does not have internet access there is a good Wi-Fi connection at McDonalds one intersection away on freeway. There is a TV in the room and a selection of DVD’s are available.

We very much enjoyed the charm and history of the mill and Kevin made our stay an absolute delight.

Room Tip: Be aware there is a steep flight of stairs leading up to the bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Wife and I always to the mountains for our anniversary and close friends who live near this place strongly recommended it.

Been all around the world in tons of 5 star places, but this is now one of my favs. Added blessing was we had owner/keeper all to ourselves and were the only ones there because of the extreme cold last night (1/24/14).

Setting is dramatic, on one of Virginia's twistiest roads, Rt. 56, and this is just a few miles down from the Blue Ridge Parkway.

The meal was exquisite in every way, 5 star in presentation, service, taste, creativity, uniqueness, flavor, and more. COZY pre-1843 mill, cozy wood stove next to our table, and Kevin could not have been a better host/chef/server. You'll fall in love with the guy if you have time to be with him.

We then stayed in the Mill Cabin which was a dream for us.....but then, we live in a stunning log home my sons & I built 14 years ago that people say is like a resort lodge. Mill Cabin was built in 1873 as a Mill Store, but now converted to as cozy a cabin for two as one can imagine: Stone fireplace/insert with blazing fire next to deep, 2-person jetted tub, LR/sitting area, sleeping area at other end. Old, quaint, warm in spite of single digit temps outside.

As an added treat, the water falling from the trough to the water wheel was frozen, about 25' of solid vertical ice, lit up with lights. Beautiful.

We will be back. For both the dining, the stay, and more great time with the innkeeper, Kevin.

Can't wait.

PS: Don't be afraid to go here in the winter.....it's super warm in every way, and you won't be fighting the crowds. Maybe you'll be lucky enough to have the place to yourselves as we did.

Room Tip: Go for the Mill Cabin. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAHanes50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As frequent visitors to the Osceola, we're never disappointed! The hosts, Kim & Kevin are always friendly, welcoming & accommodating. They treat us like family. The rooms are clean, relaxing & comfy! The food is wonderful! Breakfast is filling & most anything you could want. Dinner is top notch...fine dining quality in a great atmosphere. Dine in your hiking clothes after a long day out or dress up, it's very relaxed. The deck is a nice feature to sit out under the stars & listen to the creek running by. It's location is great too. We've stayed various times throughout the year & there's always something new nearby to discover!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrlygrl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We only stayed one night, as part of a trip from Chicago to Washington via the blue ridge parkway, we'd have loved to have stayed longer. The Mill has so much character , I doubt there is a right angle in the place.
We arrived quite late, but Kevin was most welcoming, and once we were settled in cooked us a great meal.
Breakfast was made to order and it was fantastic , freshly squeezed juice and a wonderful omelette.

It'd be a great base for a few days longer as the porch looks like a great place ot have a drink as evening sets in, -shame we couldn't do it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffolk_lad_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Absolutely outstanding. Kevin, the owner and host is one of the friendliest and interesting people I've ever met. He regaled us with tales of the history of the mill as well as Northern NJ (he used to live near where we live now). From arrival to departure, it was one of the best places we've ever stayed. Sure there were some issues like being hot overnight and a stink bug invasion, but you can completely forget these in light of the hospitality and character of the place. From creeky floorboards to the original ceiling beams that were cut in George Washington's time, the mill exudes charm and a fascinating past. Kevin greeted us when we arrived late after a long journey on the BRP and offered to keep the restaurant open for us. We didn't want to impose, so he gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. He then showed us our accommodations and even offered us complimentary healthy glasses of local wine while he walked us through and talked briefly about the history. I loved the charm so much I ended up sitting up for 3 hours reading some of the books in the room while overlooking the mill. In the morning, he prepared breakfast for us which included delicious vegetable omelettes, french toast made from chunky sourdough, and bacon, all locally sourced and incredible. Even the freshly squeezed juice and coffee were delicious. He also has a passion for cars and many car clubs stop here, so he was very interested in our car pick up in SC for which we were travelling. The mill is an incredible place to stay for a night or two when traveling on the Blue Ridge Parkway, or even longer to unwind or explore VA. We're already considering a trip back to disconnect and peruse the rest of the library.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We celebrated our 15 year anniversary here we rented the cabin for two nights and it was wonderful. The cabin was rustic and very cozey and clean.Kevin and his wife were very sweet,We even out that Kevin was from the area where I grew up in "New Jersey". My husband and I enjoyed a romantic dinner, the food was delicious!!! and the Breakfast was "fantastic" it was made to order. It was very peaceful and the sound of the water falling was wonderful.
I cant wait to return!!!!

Thanks for a great weekend!!!!!!!!! to remember.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We celebrated our 34th anniversary by staying at the Osceola Mill B&B. It was a wonderful time and Kevin spoiled us with a wonderful dinner that night. Everything was perfect and delicious! The room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the sound of the water falling outside the window. It was very relaxing. Kevin was very attentive and congenial. We hope to stay there again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherryandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Osceola Mill Restaurant, B&B and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osceola Mill Restaurant, B&B and Cabins

Address: 352 Tye River Tpke, Steeles Tavern, VA 24476
Region: United States > Virginia > Steeles Tavern
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Steeles Tavern
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1800s Cyrus McCormick water-powered mill converted to a fine dining restaurant and B&B. Continental cuisine including steak, South African lobster, veal & fresh seafood. 15 min to Staunton or Lexington, VA. Receives excellent reviews. Historic mill structure remains including massive chestnut beams. Outdoor activities abound with some of VA's nicest scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Osceola Mill Restaurant, b&b And Cabins Hotel Steeles Tavern
Osceola Mill Restaurant, Bed And Breakfast And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing